PORTLAND — City Council and School Committee members will be inaugurated today at City Hall.

Councilors, including Mayor Nicholas Mavodones Jr., will be sworn in at a noon ceremony in the council chamber.

Mavodones is an at-large councilor who was elected by the council to serve as mayor for a second year in a row. Last month, city residents authorized a return to a popularly elected mayor. Residents will elect a mayor to a four-year term in November 2011.

At-large councilors John Anton and Jill Duson and District 3 Councilor Ed Suslovic also will be sworn in.

The School Committee will hold its inauguration at 4 p.m. in the council chamber.

Kate Snyder, elected to a second three-year term in November, is expected to be named board chairwoman. She’s an at-large member.

At-large member Jaimey Caron, who also was elected to a second term, is expected to be named chairman of the finance subcommittee.

Also to be sworn in is Laurie Davis, a former Portland school administrator, who was elected to the District 3 committee seat. She replaces Peter Eglinton, outgoing committee chairman, who didn’t seek re-election.