AUGUSTA  — A special legislative committee will work on easing Maine’s business regulatory climate.

The House speaker and Senate president on Monday announced appointments to the Joint Select Committee on Regulatory Fairness and Reform.

The 15-member committee’s been created to work on the first bill of the new session: An Act to Ensure Regulatory Fairness and Reform. It’ll work with Gov.-Elect Paul LePage to bring its proposals before the Legislature in hopes of fulfilling campaign promises by LePage.

Senate Majority Leader Jonathan Courtney of Sanford and Rep. Jonathan McKane of Newcastle, both Republicans, will be co-chairs of the bipartisan committee.

Members of the committee are:

Senator Christopher W. Rector (R-Knox)
Senator Thomas B. Saviello (R-Franklin)
Senator Justin L. Alfond (D-Cumberland)
Senator Seth A. Goodall (D-Sagadahoc)
Representative Stacey Allen Fitts (R-Pittsfield)
Representative Dianne C. Tilton (R-Harrington)
Representative Dana L. Dow (R-Waldoboro)
Representative Michael D. McClellan (R-Raymond)
Representative James W. Parker (R-Veazie)
Representative Robert S. Duchesne (D-Hudson)
Representative Sharon Anglin Treat (D-Hallowell)
Representative Michael E. Carey (D-Lewiston)
Representative Linda M. Valentino (D-Saco)