Honors and awards

Among 2011 Presidential Scholars Program honorees are: William Records, Kennebunk High School; Peter Bailinson and Leah Wilcox, Greely High School, Cumberland.

Cheverus High School students, senior Cecile Day and sophomore Samantha SaVaun, were honored with the school’s President’s Volunteer Service Award.

Three Portland public school seniors have been selected to receive a 2011 Principal’s Award. They are Kyara Dorvee of Casco Bay High School, Mohamed Abdirahman of Deering High School and Alexandra Kiladjian of Portland High School. Sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, the award recognizes academic achievement and citizenship.