Cheverus’ Hoyt receives honor

Gary Hoyt, athletic and student activities director at Cheverus High School, was named Athletic Director of the Year for 2012.

Hoyt has served as the Director of Athletics and Student Activities at Cheverus High School for 32 years. 

“How fitting that a man who has dedicated his entire professional career to the formation of Cheverus High School’s student athletes is being recognized as Athletic Director of the Year,” said Cheverus Principal John Mullen in a news release. “Gary is the consummate high school administrator, always seeking to provide opportunities for students from which they can carry the value of sportsmanship, hard work, and respect for others.”


Honor society raises $1,000

James Holland, principal of South Portland High School, accepted a $1,000 donation from the honor society for the school’s charitable fund, which will help students and families in need in the community.

The honor society raises money through fundraisers such as raffles, wrapping gifts during the holidays and school events.


Author wins Lupine Award

Jennifer Richard Jacobson, author of ”Small as an Elephant,” received a 2012 Lupine Award in the Juvenile/Youth Author category.

Jacobson received the award at the annual Reading Round-Up of Children’s and Young Adult Literature Conference, which is sponsored by the Maine Regional Library System and the Maine Library Association’s Youth Services Section. This is her second Lupine. Her young adult novel, “Stained,” won the award in 2005.


Book Shed open for summer

The Book Shed behind Libby Library, at 27 Staples St., has opened for the summer season. 

The store is open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesdays through Fridays and from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturdays, weather permitting.

The Book Shed is sponsored by the Friends of Libby Library with proceeds benefitting Libby Library children’s programs.

For more details, call 934-4351.


Writing contest results are in

Wells High School senior Audrey Borst has won first place in the Wells-Ogunquit Community School District 26th Annual Literary Achievement Awards Writing Contest and a $500 award for her untitled personal essay.

Borst was among 63 district students, in kindergarten through adult education, to be recognized for top three placement and honorable mention for their writing contributions.

Those winners included (top three, respectively): Kindergarten – Colby Sevigney, Cameron Mahoney and Wilson Clough, with Honorable Mention to Nathan Bolduc and Calvin Chase; Grade 1 – Kambrie Thompson, Alivia Boucher and Colin Buttersm with Honorable Mention to Lucy Breton and Sara Hayden;  Grade 2 – Grace Boucher, Kara Borkowski, Leah Finn with Honorable Mention to Auguste Coirra and Sara Shackford; Grade 3 – Kadia Thompson, Natalie Hanagan, Isabel Martin with Honorable Mention to Amanda Dennett and Kaitlyn Kenyon; Grade 4 – Hannah Wrigley, Sarah Webb and Margaret Foster with Honorable Mention to Alethia Batchelder and Shea Harrington; Grade 5 -Matthew Chase. Delaney O’Brien and Lauren Riegel, with Honorable Mention to Carrie Chase and Kim Towne; Grade 6 – Brenda Griffin, Anya Chase and Charlie Clough, with Honorable Mention to Olivia Durfee and Mitchell Hanagan; Grade 7 – Allison Jarvis, Adia Montagna and Halee Ramsdell, with Honorable Mention to Kayla Looper and Madison Morin; Grade 8 – Julia Nixon, Kate Macolini and Matt McAllister, with Honorable Mention to Mark Brewster and Justin Villemaire; Grade 9 – Bethany Berger and Sarah Berger;  Grade 10 – Colin Sevigney, Madilin Pagliarulo and Anna Olsen, with Honorable Mention to Dylan Sierra and Kelcie Wood; Grade 11 – Zoe Onion, Kaitlin Devlin and Morticia Goodell, with Honorable Mention to Madeline Andrews and Madison Moore; Grade 12 – Audrey Borst, Whitney Holt and Julian Davila with Honorable Mention to Patrick Menard and Sarah Wright; and Adult Education: DeAnna Park.

Winners will receive their prizes and read a portion of their essays before an audience at an awards ceremony to be held at 6:30 p.m. Thursday at Olenn Auditorium at Wells High School. 


Students to be honored at Sea Dogs game

The Portland Sea Dogs will honor 23 Bonny Eagle High School students for their participation in the Sea Dogs Most Improved Student program.

Students Matthew Nickerson, Kyle Cushman, Aaron Hebert, Jizelle Bertin, Matthew Ramsdell, Jamie Jophnson, Sarsh Goff, Brian Tinsdale, Kanan Garayev, Derek Axelson, Joshua Bell, Adrianna Rodrigues, Lauren Turner, Harley Light, Ian Farwell, Shane Blaisdell, Alexandria Ross, Kaylei Coombs, Lucas Barker, Jeremy Doore, Russell Tracy, Matthew Piper and Adam Kennie will be honored at an upcoming Sea Dogs game for demonstrating improvement academically, socially or behaviorally over the past school year. They will receive certificates, be honored at an on-field ceremony and have their names listed in a program insert and on the message board.