Wells High School seniors Michael Valente and Jesse Mills have been named finalists in the 57th Annual National Merit Scholarship Program.   

Wiscasset High School senior James Andretta is a recipient of the 2012 Principal’s Award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, recognizing his academic achievement and outstanding school citizenship.

Honor Rolls:

Private Schools

Loomis Chaffee School, Windsor, Conn. – High Honors – Douglas Gorman, Saco and Katherine Timko, Bar Harbor. Honors – Sierra Semmel, Dedham, and Molly Strabley, Yarmouth.
Pomfret School, Pomfret, Conn. – Honors – Jon Pate, Saco.
Westminster School, Simsbury, Conn. – High Honors – Katherine Pate, Saco.

National Honor Society Inductions:

South Portland High School National Honor Society senior inductees:

Alexandra Abramson, Lindsay Cannon, Jessy Francois, Theodore Gilbert, Hannah Huggins, and Kateri Jeffery. Juniors inducted were: Jackson Beck, Conor Beck, Danielle Bergner, Joseph Brown, Benjamin Burkey, Dillon Burns, Emma Dadmun, Paige Doane, Caleb Elsemore, Ryan Ely, Keirstan Field, Samantha Fuller, Nicole Grant, Emily Gray, Kailey Hannigan, Sonita Hav, Maxwell Knutsen, Elisa Martin, James Merkel, Cody Munson, Thuy Nguyen, Abigail Onos, Claudia Ouellette, Ryan Pelletier, Aleina Peluso, Jaclyn Salevsky, Iris SanGiovanni, Derek Tannoia, Angela Tirabassi, Emma Tremblay, Zoe Trout,Madeline Twomey, Brian Weden, Jenna Wing and Brianna Woodward. New officers for the 2012-13 school year are Brianna Woodward, president; Maddie Twomey, vice-president; Jackson Beck, secretary; Sonita Hav, public relations officer; and Derek Tannoia, philanthropist.