Tuesday November 29, 2011 | 03:53 PM

University of Maine head football coach Jack Cosgrove has been named the Division I FCS Coach of the Year by the New England Football Writers.

Cosgrove guided the Black Bears to an 8-3 record this season - his 19th at Maine. On Saturday, the Black Bears play in the NCAA playoffs at Appalachian State.

This is the first time since Tom Lichtenberg in 1989 that a Maine coach was won the award.

The writers also named an All-New England team. Three Maine players made it - offensive lineman Chris Howley, wide receiver Maurice McDonald and safety Jerron McMillian.



Previous entries

March 2012

February 2012

January 2012

November 2011

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)
Prefer to respond privately? Email us here.