Thursday March 15, 2012 | 08:40 PM

University of Maine senior forward Spencer Abbott was named the Hockey East Player of the year, the first Black Bears player in 17 years to receive the honor.

Abbott received the award during the league's annual dinner Thursday night.

Abbott and Boston College junior defenseman Brian Dumoulin of Biddeford were also the only two Hockey East players among the top 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Award, given to the best Division I men's college hockey player.

The Hobey Baker top 10 were announced Thursday. The field will be reduced to this later this month. The winner will be announced April 6.

The only University of Maine player to ever receive the Hobey Baker Award was Paul Kariya in 1993.

The last Black Bears player named Hockey East Player of the Year was defenseman Chris Imes in 1995.


Previous entries

March 2012

February 2012

January 2012

November 2011

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)
Prefer to respond privately? Email us here.