Friday, December 6, 2013
The Associated Press
NEW YORK - Coca-Cola may be missing from Passover feasts for the second year in a row in California.
The Coca-Cola Co. said Thursday it once again won't be able to make "kosher for Passover" versions of its flagship cola this year because of manufacturing changes that were made in the state.
A spokeswoman for the Atlanta-based company said in an email that Coca-Cola has made "good progress" in developing kosher for Passover drinks in the state but that it's still monitoring the shelf stability of those products for quality assurance.
She said they should be available next year.
Regular Coca-Cola is sweetened with high-fructose corn syrup in the United States, but the Passover version is made with sugar.