June 30, 2013

Calendar

(Continued from page 1)

click image to enlarge

Singer-songwriter John McCutcheon performs Sunday in Boothbay Harbor.

Courtesy photo

click image to enlarge

The roots rock outfit the Black Lillies has two shows in Maine this week: Wednesday in Boothbay Harbor and Friday in Ogunquit.

Courtesy photo

Additional Photos Below

Editor's Note: To submit items for Calendar, send mail to GO at Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, One City Center, Portland, ME 04101, or send email to go@pressherald.com or a fax to 791-6920. Items should be submitted two weeks in advance. For information, call 791-6455.

"Green Thoughts in Green Shade," contour drawings of the backyard by Joe Klofas, Merrill Memorial Library, Yarmouth. yarmouthlibrary.org. Through July 13.

"Distress," Kenny Cole screen prints, submarine and flag drawings in gouache, bunting made from discarded clothing and interactive Jacob's ladder canvases hanging from the industrial ceiling trusses, Buoy Gallery, Kittery. buoygallery .com. Through Sunday.

"New Work: New Ideas," curated selection of new work and new ideas by craft gallery artists, CRAFT Gallery, Rockland. craftonelm.com. Through Friday.

"In Full Bloom: Intimate Views of Plant Life," paintings by Jean Beal and Alice Kirkpatrick, McLaughlin Garden, South Paris. mclaughlingarden.org. Through Sunday.

"An Artistic Look at Explorational History at Bowdoin College," Bowdoin College, Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum, Brunswick. bowdoin.edu/arctic-museum. Through July 14.

Frankie Odom, paintings, prints and collages, University of New England, Campus Center, Biddeford. 284-6394. Through Sunday.

Wells High School art classes art show, Wells Public Library. 646-8181. Through Sunday.

"Ka-POW!", re-interpreted images shared through the media landscape, Whatnot Gallery, Spindleworks, Brunswick. spindleworks.org. Through Wednesday.

"Encore," work on Yupo (Japanese synthetic paper) by David Estey Carver Hill Gallery, Rockland. carverhillgallery.com. Through Tuesday.

"One Community -- One Future," group show featuring sculpture, painting, fiber arts, encaustic, photography and hand-pulled prints, Vance and Anne Morgan Gallery, Kittery. kitterycommunitycenter.org. Through Aug. 31.

"Snapshots of the Barnyard," photos and prints of felt textile handicraft by Loren Leahy, The Green Hand Bookshop, Portland. 253-6808. Through Sunday.

Sixth-Anniversary Show, works by Kevin Johnson, Mark Kelly, Richard Mann, Wesley Reddick and Willy Reddick, Aarhus Gallery, Belfast. aarhusgallery.com. Through Sunday.

"Light Moves," paintings by Emily Trenholm, Fogg Lighting, Portland. 797-7568. Through Aug. 31.

"Through the Lens," photography exhibit and competition, Lyceum Gallery, Lewiston. lyceumgallery.com. Through Aug. 2.

The Harry Nadler Collection, Fryeburg Academy, Palmina F. and Stephen S. Pace Galleries of Art. fryeburgacademy.org. Through Sept. 2.

"Surface, Light and Structure," Frances Hynes, Richard Keen and Lyle Salmi, Elizabeth Moss Gallery, Falmouth. elizabethmossgalleries.com. Through July 21.

"100 Years of Acadia National Park's Carriage Roads," Skyline Farm Carriage Museum, North Yarmouth. skylinefarm.org. Through Aug. 18.

"Henry Strater: A Life in Art," 60 of the most important works from the collection, Ogunquit Museum of American Art. ogunquitmuseum.org. Through Oct. 31.

"Big! Bad! Bold!", paintings, ceramics, fiber arts, glass, furniture, wood work and sculpture by Maine artists, The Stable Gallery, Damariscotta. stablegallerymaine.com. Through July 11.

"The Tourist of 1913," costumes, artifacts and more show how this area became the mecca of tourism that it is today, Brick Store Museum, Kennebunk. brickstoremuseum.org. Through Sept. 14.

Jean Swan Gordon, line drawings and watercolors, Gold/Smith Gallery, Boothbay Harbor. 633-6252. Through Sunday.

"Printmakers in Conversation," woodcuts by Barbara Putnam, PhoPa Gallery, Portland. phopagallery.com. Through Aug. 10.

"Points of View," paintings by Roy Germon, Littlefield Gallery, Winter Harbor. littlefieldgallery.com. Through July 7.

"Index," group exhibition, The Hive, Kennebunk. thehivekennebunk.com. Through July 14.

"One If By Land ...," landscapes and landmarks captured by Maine artists James Rivoli and Francine Schrock, Harmons & Bartons Gallery, Portland. harmonsbartons.com. Through Sunday.

"Birds of Maine," paintings by Father Paul Plante, Rangeley Outdoor Sporting Heritage Museum, Oquossoc. 864-3091. Through July 30.

"Finish Lines," clay by Adriane Herman, Rose Contemporary, Portland. rosecontemporary.com. Thursday through Aug. 10.

"The Barrell Family Collection: A Return to York," personalities and collections of one of York's most distinguished early families, Museums of Old York. oldyork.org. Through Oct. 19.

"Richard Norton's Belfast: 1978-1988" and invitational, more than 100 of Norton's hand-printed black-and-white photo-journalistic images of Belfast and Waldo County and a selection of his large color photographs, Waterfall Arts, Belfast. waterfallarts.org. Through Aug. 23.

"Truth and Beauty," still lifes, landscapes and genre paintings by Vincent Giarrano; and "Untold Stories," scenes of small-town America by Linden Frederick, Haynes Galleries, Thomaston. haynesgalleries.com. Through July 27.

(Continued on page 3)

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors


Additional Photos

click image to enlarge

“Up to the Lighthouse” by landscape painter Kevin Beers, from “Monhegan Island,” the exhibition of his work continuing through July 27 at Gleason Fine Art in Boothbay Harbor. A reception for Beers and fellow exhibitor Tim Christensen, a ceramic artist, will be held at 5 p.m. Friday.

Courtesy of Gleason Fine Art

  


Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)


 

Blogs

More PPH Blogs