April 27, 2013

New law exempts new vets from Maine license fees

Gov. Paul LePage signed the bill on Wednesday, and it will take effect 90 days after the close of this year's legislative session.

The Associated Press

AUGUSTA — A newly signed Maine law will exempt newly discharged members of the armed forces from driver's license fees and non-driver state identification fees.

Gov. Paul LePage signed the bill on Wednesday, and it will take effect 90 days after the close of this year's legislative session.

The law will make the offer of no fees good for 180 days after discharge from the military.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors




Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)