August 11, 2010

College Notes, Aug. 11, 2010


Assumption College, Worcester, Mass.: Clare Menapace, Kennebunk; Kayla Parker, Sanford; Nicholas Cantrell, Portland.

Berklee College of Music, Boston: Sydney Anderson, Rockport; Scott Good, Eliot; Marcel Hamel, Gorham; M. Mulholland, Arundel; Ryan Nava, North Waterboro; Sam Reifman-Packett, Harpswell.

College of the Holy Cross, Worcester, Mass.: Elizabeth Kayajian, cum laude, Biddeford.

Denison University, Granville, Ohio: Isabel Mullin, Cape Elizabeth.

Emory University, Atlanta: Iyla Hopkins of Warren; Kelsey Walsh and Elisabeth Blanchard, Yarmouth; Elyse LaFond, Falmouth; Randall Hansen and Kathryn Abare, Portland; Kristen Jensen, Scarborough; Erik Goranson, Cumberland; Peter Van De Krol, Gorham.

Fairfield, Conn., University: Maria Theresa Cardona, Buxton; Spencer Thibodeau, Portland; Kristen Buckley, Scarborough; Caitlin Barber, Cape Elizabeth; Laura McDermott, Berwick.

Franklin Pierce University, Rindge, N.H.: Elyse Tourangeau, cum laude, Old Orchard Beach.

Gettysburg, Pa., College: Sarah Studley, summa cum laude, Yarmouth; Sarah Slater , magna cum laude, Gorham; Gretchen Koch, cum laude, Scarborough; Kaitlyn Lyons, cum laude, Brunswick; Bradley Allen, Cumberland; Albert McCormack, Freeport; Rachel Parshley, Portland.

Prescott, Ariz., College: Abigail Strauss-Malcolm, Portland.

Roanoke College, Salem, Va.: Renee Souter and Kevin Harrison, both of Cape Elizabeth; Christina Sargent, North Berwick.

Springfield, Mass., College: Samuel Burrell, of Cumberland;Matthew Dale, of Durham; Tracey Jameson, of Harpswell; Joshua Masse, of Biddeford.

Stonehill College, Easton, Mass.: Jessica Dunfey, York; Samantha Ennis, Windham; Katherine Foley, Cape Elizabeth Alana Landano, Fryeburg; Sean Lynch and Sara Vicenzi, Yarmouth; Christopher McCormick and Brendan Rauth, Scarborough; Stephen Morrill, Waterboro; Traca Rafferty , Kennebunk.

SUNY College at Oneonta: Cynthia Walker, Wells.

Taylor University, Upland, Ind.: John Hutchins, Cumberland; Clinton Sullivan, Bowdoinham.

University at Albany, N.Y.: Victoria Pelletier, Brunswick.

Western New England College, Springfield, Mass.: Russell Bouchard, Topsham; Eric Caron, Springvale; Dana Clancy, Jr., Kennebunk; Krista Goulet, Saco; Edwin Jones, Bowdoin; John Mercier, Biddeford; Austin Pickering, South Portland; Kristen Tonder, cum laude, Old Orchard Beach; Timothy Whetstone, cum laude, Wells.

American University, Washington, D.C.: Laura Whiston, magna cum laude, Kennebunk.

Bates College, Lewiston: Jenna Finegold, magna cum laude, Portland.

Bowdoin College, Brunswick: John Coit, Lucas Delahanty, Colman Hatton, Dana Riker and Matthew Yantakosol, all of Cape Elizabeth; Megan Macleod, Cumberland; Leonard Pierce, Cumberland Foreside; Brenna Nicely, Gorham; Tho Xuan Thi Huynh and Kimberly Ayers, both of Portland; Samantha Anaman, Scarborough; Francis Huynh, Emily McKinnon and Kelly Schussler, all of South Portland; Molly Masterton, Windham.

The College of Saint Rose, Albany, NY.: Natalie Mitchell, Kennebunk.

Elon, N.C., University: Elizabeth Russell, Cumberland.

Hartwick College, Oneonta, N.Y.: Helen Lockwoood, cum laude, Raymond.

Manhattanville College, Purchase, NY.: William Wysowski, summa cum laude, Westbrook.

University of Rochester, N.Y.: Douglass Butler, cum laude, Windham.

University of New Haven, West Haven, Conn.: Chelsea Annese, Topsham; Amber Auger, Lewiston; Gillian Higginson, South Windham; Courtney Panetta, Kennebunk; Sean Whitman, Marshwood.


Advance Degrees

Saint Joseph College, West Hartford, Conn.: Marin Weiner, Portland, Master of Science in Nutrition.

Springfield, Mass., College: Michael Griffin, Scarborough, master of science in physician assistant.

University of Hartford, Conn.: Sarah Hood, Hollis, doctoral degree in physical therapy.


Curry College, Milton, Mass.: Donna Schlieper of Scarborough, has been inducted into the Lambda Chi chapter of the Communication Honor Society, Lambda Pi Eta.

Bryant University, Smithfield, R.I.: Michael Whipple, South Portland, received the Jeremiah Clark Barber Award for the most consistent record of academic improvement; Allyson Lagass?f Wells, received the Leander Francis Emin Endowed Homestead Award for scholastic excellence in accounting.

Bates College, Lewiston: Jenna Finegold, Portland, was elected to Phi Beta Kappa and also received the Drake R. Bradley Award in statistics.

Gettysburg, Pa., College: Timothy Cullen, of Auburn, and Sarah Studley, of Yarmouth, have been elected to the Iota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Society.

Hartwick College, Oneonta, N.Y.: Brittany Daigneault, Biddeford, and Brianna O'Connor, Brunswick, have been named Faculty Scholars in Art.

(Continued on page 2)

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)