October 8, 2012

College Notes

Advanced Degrees

Elizabethtown (Pa.) College: Molly Northway, Cumberland, master of science in occupational therapy.

Union Institute and University, Cincinnati: Heather Westleigh, Bridgton, master of arts; Beata Wiktor, Windham, doctor of psychology; Lisa Crothers, Wells, master of arts.

University of New Haven, West Haven, Conn.: Brian Carlton, Arrowsic, master's degree in fire science. 

Dean's List

Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa.: Chaney Burlin, Portland.

University of Massachusetts, Boston: Larkin Keyes, York; Vanessa Bradbury, Westbrook; Julia Hewes, Cape Elizabeth. 


American International College, Springfield, Mass.: Erin St. Pierre of South Berwick has been inducted into the 3.0 Club, which honors student-athletes.

College at Brockport, State University of New York: Amber Bowen of Scarborough has received the Brockport's Deans and Recognition Scholarship.

Denison University, Granville, Ohio: Yaoxi Li of South Freeport and John Reinhardt of York have been awarded the Denison Alumni Award.

Stonehill College, Easton, Mass.: Paige Allen of Biddeford has received the Esper Reporting Scholarship from the New England Associated Press News Executive Association.

University of Southern Maine, Portland and Gorham: Thirteen students have been selected for the class of 2016 Pioneer Program, the state's first collegiate honors program for students studying science, technology, engineering or math. Recipients receive a full tuition scholarship for four years, paid internship, notebook computer and additional resources. The students are: Dustin Boucher, Caribou; Christopher Dunn, Kennebunk; Christopher Fitzgerald, Scarborough; Nathan Goodrich, Gorham; Nicholas Hamel, Rumford; Megan Maguire, South Berwick; Joseph Murphy III, Lewiston; Ryan Pulver, Vassalboro; Mackenzie Sullivan, Lewiston; Christopher Walker, Saco; Joseph Walter , Brunswick; Allison Ward, Rockland; Nicolas Williams, Mexico. Also at USM, Melissa Stone of Portland was the winner of the 2012 Ellen L. and Harry S. Hamilton Prize in Environmental Policy Studies.

College for ME-Androscoggin and Maine Community Foundation has announced the winners of the Thomas W. Musgrave and Beulah Long Musgrave Fund Scholarships. The following students have been awarded $1,000 scholarships: Kristie Feeley, Lewiston, University of Southern Maine's Lewiston-Auburn College; Celina Gauthier, Auburn, University of Southern Maine's Lewiston-Auburn College; Jennifer Leighton, Auburn, Central Maine Community College; Sherry Monteith, Lewiston, University of Southern Maine's Lewiston-Auburn College.


Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)