June 1, 2011

School Notes, June 1, 2011

William Cadigan of Kennebunkport has been awarded a full four-year Jefferson Scholarship to attend the University of Virgina at Charlottesville. Cadigan is one of 27 students to receive the scholarship. Students are nominated to be eligible, and more 1,300 were considered for this year's award.

Maine's 2011 U.S. Presidential Scholars are Natalie Salmon of Yarmouth High School and John Queeney of Cape Elizabeth High School.

Students are selected on the basis of academic success, essays, school evaluations, community service and leadership. They will be honored in Washington, D.C., from June 18 to 21 along with the teachers they have named as most inspiring and challenging.

Yarmouth High School history teacher Alan Hall and Cape Elizabeth High School science teacher Douglas Worthley will receive recognition awards.

Jake Bradford of Kennebunk received Effort Second Honors for the third term honor roll at The Fessenden School, West Newton, Mass. He is in ninth grade.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)