December 20, 2012

3 finalists named for Fitzpatrick Trophy

By Paul Betit
Staff Writer

Two running backs and a wide receiver from Class A schools are the finalists for the 42nd Fitzpatrick Trophy, awarded annually to the top senior high school football player in Maine.

The three finalists, selected from 10 candidates by a vote of football coaches from all three classes of competition and members of the media, include Donald Goodrich of Cheverus, Alex Shain of Sanford and Chandler Shostak of Cony.

Goodrich, who averaged 8.65 yards per carry, rushed for 1,722 yards and scored 24 touchdowns.

Shain rushed for 1,400 yards and scored 28 touchdowns.

Shostak caught 58 passes for 853 yards and 12 touchdowns.

The Fitzy winner will be announced at the annual banquet Jan. 20 at the Holiday Inn By The Bay in Portland.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)



More PPH Blogs

2014 Boston Marathon


Spring sports photos