January 19

Fitzpatrick Trophy wait ends Sunday

The top senior football player in Maine will be announced Sunday.

By Tom Chard tchard@pressherald.com
Staff Writer

This story was updated at 1:50 p.m. Jan. 19 to correct the spelling of the guest speaker's last name.


WHAT: 43rd James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy banquet

WHEN: Noon Sunday

WHERE: Holiday Inn by the Bay, Portland


Nicco DeLorenzo, Kennebunk

Running back/linebacker

DeLorenzo was a tough runner who gained 1,400 yards and scored 21 touchdowns. As a linebacker, he was a run stopper and one of the team’s leading tacklers. DeLorenzo helped the Rams capture the Western Class B championship. The Rams lost to Cony 30-23 in the state final. He will attend Colgate University.


Ben Lucas, Cony


Lucas finished his career as the most prolific passer in Maine high school history and led his team to the Class B state title. In his final season, Lucas passed for 41 touchdowns and 3,482 yards. He passed for three touchdowns and 307 yards in the second half of the state final to rally Cony to a 30-23 win. Lucas hasn’t made a college decision.


Justin Zukowski, Portland

Running back/linebacker

Zukowski led Eastern Class A in rushing with 1,624 yards. He scored 27 touchdowns. Zukowski was named Player of the Year in Eastern Class A. As a linebacker he was strong against the rush and the pass. Zukowski helped the Bulldogs reach the Eastern Maine final. He will attend Bates College.

For the three finalists for the James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy, the journey to the head table at Sunday’s banquet represents the realization of a lot of work, guidance by their coaches, support at home and multiple contributions from teammates.

The annual process to select the top senior high school football player culminates with the announcement of the 43rd winner of the bronze statue.

Nicco DeLorenzo of Kennebunk, Ben Lucas of Cony and Justin Zukowski of Portland are the finalists. They emerged as the top-vote getters from a list of 12 semifinalists chosen by the Fitzpatrick selection committee from nominations submitted by the state’s coaches. Coaches and media members who cover high school football on a regular basis vote for the award.

“It’s pretty exciting,” said Lucas of being a finalist. “I’m anxious for it to happen. I’ve been waiting for a while.”

Ditto for DeLorenzo and Zukowski. The month-long wait from the announcement of the finalists to the banquet can seem like forever for the candidates.

Lucas, a record-setting quarterback, led Cony to the Class B state title over DeLorenzo’s Kennebunk team.

Neither Cony nor Kennebunk has had a Fitzy winner. Portland has had four – Mike Rutherford in 1982; Shaun Hawkins in 1983; Joe D’Andrea in 1995; and Carl Frye in 2002.

“Mr. Rutherford, my assistant coach, helped me with my speech,” said Zukowski, a running back/linebacker. “Ben and Nicco are really outstanding players. Just to be included with those guys is something special.”

Zukowski sparked Portland to the Eastern Class A final, where the Bulldogs lost 22-19 to Cheverus. Zukowski led Eastern Class A in rushing and was selected as the conference’s player of the year.

DeLorenzo was a two-way standout at running back and linebacker. He started at linebacker as a freshman and became a two-way starter his sophomore year. He helped the Rams to an 11-1 record and a berth in the Class B state final.

“It’s exciting to get recognized as one of the best players in Maine,” said DeLorenzo. “I’m looking forward to it.”

As per custom, the Fitzpatrick winner from 25 years ago – the 1988 season – will be the guest speaker. Kirk Matthieu, a record-setting running back from Lawrence High, will handle this year’s duties.

Tom Chard can be reached at 791-6419 or at:


Twitter: TomChardPPH

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)



More PPH Blogs

2014 Boston Marathon


High School Football 2013

Fall sports photos