February 24

High School Notebook: McAuley’s Allie Clement belongs with elites

The senior guard wins another McMann Award.

From staff reports

McAuley senior guard Allie Clement became the sixth multi-time winner of the Edward “Red” McMann Award, presented to the outstanding player-sportswoman in the Western A girls’ basketball tournament.

click image to enlarge

McAuley guard Allie Clement was named the top player in the Western A girls’ tournament for the second time, joining an elite group.

John Ewing/Staff Photographer

click image to enlarge

Greely assistant coaches Alisha Copp, left, and Doug Pride, center, and head coach Rob Hale jump into the pool at Bowdoin College in Brunswick Tuesday after the Rangers captured the state championship at the Class B boys’ swim meet.



CLASS A: Portland (21-0) vs. Hampden Academy (21-0), 7 p.m. Saturday at Cumberland County CC

CLASS B: Poland (13-8) vs. Old Town (17-5), 8:45 p.m. Friday at Cross Insurance Center, Bangor

CLASS C: Waynflete (18-2) vs. Houlton (21-0), 7:05 p.m. Saturday at Augusta CC

CLASS D: Valley (17-4) vs. Hodgdon (19-3), 2:45 p.m. Saturday at Augusta CC


CLASS A: McAuley (20-1) vs. Oxford Hills (17-4), 4 p.m. Saturday at Cumberland County CC

CLASS B: Lake Region (20-1) vs. MDI (19-2), 7:05 p.m. Friday at Cross Insurance Center, Bangor

CLASS C: Carrabec (18-4) vs. Calais (19-2), 7:05 p.m. Saturday at Augusta CC

CLASS D: Forest Hills (21-0) vs. Washburn (20-2), 1:05 p.m. Saturday at Augusta CC

Clement scored 23 points in Saturday’s 50-28 Western A championship game win against Windham – 11 coming in the third quarter when the Lions broke the game open – giving her 53 points in the tourney.

“She made a lot of great decisions and she’s a very special player,” McAuley Coach Bill Goodman said.

After Westbrook’s Lisa Blais won the McMann Award for the second time in 1979, it was 17 seasons until Bri Fecteau of Westbrook won her second in 1996. Sarah Marshall of McAuley is the only three-time winner (2001-03). Deering’s Diana Manduca (2008-09) and McAuley’s Alexa Coulombe (2011-12) also were two-time winners.

Clement was not the only repeat winner on the day.

Lake Region senior center Tiana-Jo Carter won her second Mike DiRenzo Award as the outstanding player-sportswoman in the Class B tournament after a standout 24-point, 15-rebound effort in the Lakers’ 59-51 win against Wells. She finished off the game with two authoritative defensive rebounds in the final 25 seconds.

“She rebounds, she makes baskets, she fights, she falls on the floor, she dives for loose balls, she sacrifices her body every second and does whatever she can to help us win,” Lake Region junior guard Sarah Hancock said.

A play in the second quarter showed the type of hustle Hancock referenced. Carter hit the deck at Lake Region’s offensive end and was obviously in some pain as a Wells player came away with the ball. When Lake Region forced a turnover, Carter got up quickly and was in position for an offensive rebound which she converted for a basket on a tough finish.

Gorham’s Karen Butterfield won the award in non-consecutive seasons, 1978 and 1980. Katie Whittier of Gray-New Gloucester (2001-02) and Nicole Taylor of York (2009-10) also won the DiRenzo Award twice.


Justin Zukowski became the 14th winner from Portland High of the George Vinall Trophy as the top player-sportsman of the Western Class A boys’ tournament.

The award is named after the former athletic director at Deering, who was a top basketball official in the 1930s and 1940s. It has been awarded since 1936 when Walter Quinn of Portland became the first winner. The trophy is given by the Western Maine Board of Basketball Officials.

Zukowski had an outstanding tournament and was clutch in the fourth quarter in the regional final, scoring eight points as the Bulldogs held off Bonny Eagle and pulled for a 70-60 victory.

Portland’s win shapes up a classic state title matchup against defending champion Hampden Academy (21-0) on Saturday at 7 p.m. at the Cumberland County Civic Center. The Broncos have won 43 straight games.

After Quinn won the Vinall in 1936, Donald Drossel won the award again for Portland the following year. The Bulldogs dominated, winning the award in the early years as they added four straight winners from 1942 to 1945 in Henry Stillman, Kenneth Graham, Charlie Bennett and Andy Lano. Peter DeRice won for the Bulldogs again in 1947

Then Portland went 21 years before another winner, Dana Anderson in 1968. Since then other Portland winners of the Vinall have been Todd Miranda (1986), Mike D’Andrea (1988), Robert Pillsbury (1999), Tyler Emmons (2004), Andrew Duncanson (2007) and now Zukowski, who is a semifinalist candidate for Mr. Basketball.

Portland won its first regional title since 2007 when the Bulldogs lost to Bangor, 56-39, in the state final at the Augusta Civic Center. The Bulldogs will be trying for their first state title since 2004 when they beat Brunswick, 69-63, at the Cumberland County Civic Center.

(Continued on page 2)

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)



More PPH Blogs

Winter sports 2013-2014

High School Football 2013

Fall sports photos