July 28, 2013

Auto Racing Roundup: Newman hits the bricks ahead of all qualifiers

From staff and news services

INDIANAPOLIS - The Rocket Man got his fuel back.


WHAT: Brickyard 400

WHEN: 1 p.m. Sunday

WHERE: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (oval, 2.5 miles)

RACE DISTANCE: 400 miles, 160 laps.


LAST YEAR: Jimmie Johnson raced to his fourth victory at the track to match Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon for the Sprint Cup record. Johnson also won in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

LAST EVENT: Brian Vickers won at New Hampshire on July 14 in Michael Waltrip Racing’s No. 55 Toyota he shares with Waltrip and Mark Martin.

FAST FACTS: NASCAR will return to NBC in 2015, ending its eight-year partnerships with ESPN and Turner Sports. The 10-year deal with NBC Sports Group gives the network the final 20 Sprint Cup races of the season and final 19 Nationwide races. ... Tony Stewart, from Indiana, won the 2005 and 2007 races.

NEXT RACE: GoBowling.com 400, Aug. 4, Pocono Raceway, Long Pond, Pa.


1. Jimmie Johnson    696

2. Clint Bowyer    640

3. Carl Edwards    623

4. Kevin Harvick    622

5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.    578

6. Matt Kenseth    576

6. Kyle Busch    576

8. Greg Biffle    545

9. Brad Keselowski    529

10. Kasey Kahne    523

11. Martin Truex Jr.    521

12. Jeff Gordon    521

13. Tony Stewart    518

14. Kurt Busch    516

15. Jamie McMurray    507

16. Aric Almirola    502

17. Jeff Burton    498

18. Joey Logano    487

18. Ryan Newman    487

18. Paul Menard    487


Ryan Newman snatched the pole away from Jimmie Johnson with a blistering lap of 187.531 mph around Indianapolis Motor Speedway to set a track record for NASCAR races at the Brickyard.

Newman was the last of the 45 drivers to make a qualifying attempt Saturday as Johnson's No. 48 was atop the scoring tower for well over an hour with a lap of 187.438. Driver after driver had failed to knock Johnson from the pole, and the four-time Brickyard winner watched and waited to see if Newman could get the job done.

Newman, an Indiana native, pulled it off as Johnson smiled his approval.

"You can't count Ryan out, and he put up a whale of a lap," Johnson said.

Added team co-owner Tony Stewart, "They don't call him 'Rocket Man' for no reason. He had an awesome lap."

It's the 50th pole for Newman, who established himself as an elite qualifier with six poles his rookie season. He set a NASCAR record with 11 poles in 2003, and won at least one pole a year for 11 seasons.

But he'd been in a drought of late, and Newman's last pole was late in the 2011 season.

"I just am ecstatic. It's awesome because it's my 50th. It's awesome because it's Indy, and it's a track record on top of that, so it's like a double triple bonus," Newman said.

The normally stoic Newman admitted he got emotional on the backstretch of his cool-down lap.

"It's more special to me because it's the Brickyard, because it's Indy, because of the history of auto racing at this facility," he said. "So many drivers who are my heroes, so many drivers I've admired, so many drivers that have worked so hard in their career to get to here on this day, to be the fastest one, that's what's the most special to me."

The drought on poles had weighed on Newman over the last year.

NATIONWIDE SERIES: Kyle Busch had a commanding lead wiped out with one ill-timed caution, but snagged it back just in time to extend his dominant run in the Nationwide Series -- and seal his latest win with a kiss.

Busch was the newest driver to kiss the bricks, leading 92 of 100 laps at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

He turned his baseball cap around, dropped to his hands and knees, and planted a big one on the bricks.

How'd they taste?

"Like bricks," he said.

Busch, who won from the pole, even gave the bricks a celebratory slap.

Not bad after a late scare off a restart dropped him to third with six laps left and nearly turned Brian Scott into the surprise winner.

Busch fell back after some hard racing with Joey Logano that almost wiped out his near-flawless racing. But his No. 54 Toyota was the fastest car all day and he roared back to take the lead with three laps left. He won for the eighth time in 15 races this season.

Scott had a career-best second-place finish, Logano was third, and Brian Vickers finished fourth.

FORMULA ONE: Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton will start from pole position for the fourth time this season after setting the fastest time at the end of qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix in Budapest.

The British driver seemed surprised when his team announced over the race radio that he had beaten three-time defending Formula One champion Sebastian Vettel.

Hamilton clocked 1 minute, 19.388 seconds, just ahead of Vettel's best lap of 1:19.426.

BEECH RIDGE: Newcastle's Charlie Colby won the NASCAR Nite Pro Series 40-lap feature, earning his second victory of the season.

Tyler King of Livermore was second and Don Colpritt of Scarborough finished third.

Other feature winners were Scarborough's Garrett Hall in the Sport Series, Scarborough's Ed Connolly in Wildcat, and Buxton's David Turner in Road Runners.

Were you interviewed for this story? If so, please fill out our accuracy form

Send question/comment to the editors

Further Discussion

Here at PressHerald.com we value our readers and are committed to growing our community by encouraging you to add to the discussion. To ensure conscientious dialogue we have implemented a strict no-bullying policy. To participate, you must follow our Terms of Use.

Questions about the article? Add them below and we’ll try to answer them or do a follow-up post as soon as we can. Technical problems? Email them to us with an exact description of the problem. Make sure to include:
  • Type of computer or mobile device your are using
  • Exact operating system and browser you are viewing the site on (TIP: You can easily determine your operating system here.)



More PPH Blogs

Winter sports 2013-2014

High School Football 2013

Fall sports photos