Portland art teachers
awarded NEH grants
PORTLAND – Melissa Maher, art teacher at Longfellow Elementary School, and Ellen Handelman, art teacher at Lyseth Elementary School, have received Picturing America grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The grant will provide 40 high quality reproductions of American art to each school, along with a resource book and web site access for the teachers.

Hedrich earns dean’s
list at Notre Dame
SOUTH BEND, Ind. – Jessica Hedrich, daughter of Peter and Michelle Hedrich of Portland, was named to the dean’s list for the 2008 fall semester at the University of Notre Dame.

Cheverus students named
to National Honor Society
PORTLAND – The National Honor Society has inducted the following local students from Cheverus High School: seniors Hannah Brazell of Cape Elizabeth, Thomas Higgins of South Portland, Doug MacGillivray of Falmouth, Molly Metevier of North Yarmouth, Frank Myatt of Portland, Richard Proscia of Yarmouth, Justin Sheehan of Scarborough, Connor Shoos of South Portland; juniors, Kayla Binford of South Portland, Elizabeth Cook of Scarborough, Margaret Corrigan of New Gloucester, Mark Dumond of Bowdoinham, Taylor Dundas of Brunswick, Grace Fitzpatrick of Falmouth, Lauren Foley of South Portland, Evan Johnston of South Portland, Kellie Keneagy of New Gloucester, Emily Machesney of Cumberland, Paige McGowan of Portland, Taylor Noonan of Portland, Abigail Norbert of Portland, Kyle Randall of South Portland, Ariana Spang of Scarborough, Sage Witham of Cumberland Center, Timothy Woods of Portland.

St. Joseph’s names
dean’s, honors list
STANDISH – The following Portland students have been named to the dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester at St. Joseph’s College: Chiara Ferrante, Leighann Gillis, Anthony Myatt, Choul Ngoal, Anthony Quang, Samantha Quattrucci, Lauren Rague, Anthony Savino, Lauren Segal, Cameron Sprague, Barry Teng, Ha Tran.
Portland students Mikayla Call, Benjamin Garrett, Meaghan Johnson, Jordan O’Donal, Jenna Segal, and Allyson Woods were named to the honors list for the fall 2008 semester at St. Joseph’s College.