Midcoast all-stars honored in several sports

While it’s finally starting to feel like spring, we can’t let go of winter just yet.
So here comes a final tribute to the all-stars from local schools who have been recognized for all they brought to the court, ice, track, pool, trails and mats beginning way back in November and extending into late February.
Here’s a look at who earned all-star mention this winter.
Basketball produced several standout teams and individuals this winter.
For the boys, in the Kennebec Valley Athletic Conference, the Class A South first-team included Morse’s Alex Kee and Mt. Ararat’s Cam Vermette.
Morse’s Alonzo James made the second team.
Vermette was a member of the All-Academic team and was named to the Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Academic team.
Kee earned a berth on the Class A/B East team for the McDonald’s Senior All-Star Game. The East lost 112-81, but Kee had nine points.
On the girls’ side, Brunswick’s Claire Baecher made the KVAC Class A South first team.
Mt. Ararat’s Hannah Fenwick was named to the second team.
Baecher and Edward Little’s Kirsten Prue were named Co-Players of the Year.
Morse’s Beth Suggs and Mt. Ararat’s Fiona Duncan qualified for the All-Academic team.
Baecher played for the East in the McDonald’s Senior All-Star team. Her team lost 66-51, but she had 10 points.
Baecher also qualified for the state All-Academic team.
The news on the ice was positive as well.
On the boys’ side, Brunswick senior forward Evan Morrell and senior defenseman Collin Monette were named to the All-State East first team.
Brunswick junior forward Conor Kelly made the second team.
Monette and Morrell also played in the Senior All-Star Game.
The KVAC All-Academic team included Mt. Ararat’s Ian Messier and Jordan Swerid.
For the girls, Brunswick goalie Amanda Hellar made the first team All-East region all-star team.
Brunswick’s Sam Youmans was an honorable mention.
As always, local runners, throwers and jumpers excelled this winter.
The KVAC Class A boys’ first team included Brunswick’s Don Benbow, Liam Cassidy, Kenzell Crawford, Jeremy Diaz, Will Geoghegan, Matt Hatke, C.J. Lord, Brandon Matt, Nate McCue, Zach McMillan, Parker Merrill, Matt Peabody, Steve Purcell, Brandon Sawyer and Mike Slovenski; and Mt. Ararat’s Tim Bickford.
Brunswick’s Dan Dearing was named Coach of the Year.
Brunswick’s Jeremy Brown and Merrill, and Mt. Ararat’s Dan Toth made the All-Academic team.
On the girls’ side, Brunswick’s Gaeton Davis, Alexis Dickinson, Emily Hartzell, Kyia Jensen, Jackie Kelly, Meghan McDonough, Kathleen McMahon, Kristin Slotnick and Farren Welzel, along with Mt. Ararat’s Christina Erving, Colby Gail, Katrina Gelwick, Jessica Leeman and Ellen Pinette made the first team.
Slotnick was named Athlete of the KVAC Meet.
Brunswick’s Hartzell and Mt. Ararat’s Erving and Krislyn Hyatt qualified for the All-Academic team.
Many local swimmers had a solid year.

Brunswick’s Joseph Blair, Tim Blair, Dan Jacques, Phillip Jacques; Morse’s Jake Olsen, Aaron Valentine, James Wells and Albin Werwaiss; and Mt. Ararat’s Peter Burtt, Tyler Cota, Drew Estrella and Jeremy King made the KVAC Class A boys’ all-conference team.

Brunswick’s Amy Mailhot was named Coach of the Year.

Morse’s Wells was named Male Swimmer of the Meet.

Brunswick’s Jordan Timmreck and Tom Williams, along with Mt. Ararat’s John Frey and Steve Tringali, qualified for the All-Academic team.

The All-State boys’ first team included Brunswick’s Phillip Jacques (200 individual medley and 200 free relay) and Morse’s Wells (100 butterfly, 100 backstroke, 200 free relay and 200 medley relay)
Jacques was also on the third team for the 100 breaststroke.
For the girls, Brunswick’s Kayla Purinton; Morse’s Cassandra Bonnett, Rebecca Bonnett, Emily Buczkowski, Caitlin Foster, Hannah Milam, Guerin Morrisette and Mallory Plummer; and Mt. Ararat’s Evelyn Dickinson made the KVAC all-conference team.

Mt. Ararat’s Tracey Doviak was named Coach of the Year.

Brunswick’s Mckenna Barley, Katherine McConnell and Andrea Nakamura; Morse’s Berkley Heath; and Mt. Ararat’s Deborah Gary, Amanda Hart-Hempstead and Alexandra Lafond qualified for the All-Academic team.

Brunswick’s Andrea Nakamura and Mt. Ararat’s Lisa Rogers qualified for the All-State All-Academic team.

In Nordic skiing, Mt. Ararat’s Linnea Tilberg and Emma Wood qualified for the KVAC girls’ second team.
Morse placed three wrestlers on the KVAC first team. D.J. Brackett (112 pounds), Spencer Chipman (145) and Tyler Russell (171) were all honored.
Mt. Ararat’s Kelly Golek (103) and Zach Chandler (171) made the second team.
There was plenty to cheer about as well this winter and the KVAC cheering all-star team had plenty of local representation.
The South first team included Brunswick’s Natalie Koenig and Asia Long, along with Morse’s Caitlin Harrington and Elizabeth McMullen.
Brunswick’s Kaylee Bryan and Brittany Rice, along with Morse’s Brooke Leonard, made the South second team.
Morse’s Jamie Lemont was named Class A Coach of the Year.
Morse’s Elizabeth Connolly, Victoria Gilliam, Harrington, Kelsey Marco and Angela Willette qualified for the All-Academic team.
Congratulations to all our top athletes for giving us another season to remember!

BrunsBHMorrell.JPGBrunswick’s Evan Morrell was in the middle of the action this winter. He was named to the All-State East first team for his efforts. (File photos)
MorseWChipman3.JPGMorse’s Spencer Chipman was a standout wrestler all season and earned all-conference honors.
MtAHSwerid.JPGMt. Ararat’s Jordan Swerid qualified for the KVAC All-Academic team.

Facebook comments