Gulf of Maine Research
Institute receives award

POLAND SPRING — Poland Spring has named the Gulf of Maine Research Institute as its 2009 Natural Leader Award recipient.

The Natural Leader Award is given annually to a Good Neighbor Grant recipient in recognition of accomplishments that make Maine a better place to work and live.

GMRI has received Good Neighbor Grants for its LabVenture! program, a free, immersive science program offered to every fifth or sixth-grader in Maine. To date, Poland Spring has donated $900,000 to LabVenture!


Peter S. Adams of Yarmouth and Hanover was appointed executive director of Maine Handicapped Skiing.


Joining the board of directors for the Institute for Civic Leadership are Edgar Anderson of Portland, Maureen Kenney of Cumberland Foreside, and Shireen Shahawy of Portland.

The Cancer Community Center has elected new officers to its board of directors and has established its board of trustees and advisory board for the next fiscal year. New board officers are Jean Wilson of Falmouth, president; Joel Harris of Cumberland, vice president; Shelly Bartlett of Yarmouth, treasurer; Nicole Avery of South Portland, secretary. Board trustees include Barry Godowsky of Yarmouth, vice president of sales at Artel; Nickolas D. Ireland of Gray, senior manager of Baker, Newman, Noyes, LLC; Maureen McIntyre of Portland, senior purchasing agent, Wright Express Corp.; John Ratoff of Kennebunk, vice president of marketing, TD Banknorth; Leslie B. Roberts of Kennebunk, internal communications manager, Fairpoint Communications; Roberta Tielinen of New Gloucester, account executive, Lincoln Financial Group. New Members to the advisory board include: Dr. Greg Adey, Fore River Urology; Susan Bowden, Maine Center for Cancer Medicine; Dr. Stuart Gilbert, Spectrum Medical Group (retired); and Lou Jacobs, DC, Jacobs Chiropractic Acupuncture.

At the annual board meeting for South Portland-based Lyric Music Theater, Ellen Lefevre, Betty Gravelle, Kate Davis, Brian McAloon, Dave Seddon, and Vince Knue were newly elected to the board of directors. Judy McSwiggen was named the volunteer of the year and Anne Johnson was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Dr. Roger Inhorn, director of Mercy Oncology/Hematology Center, is continuing as chairperson for the advisory board.

Governor John Baldacci recently appointed Brian Perkins, president of New Generation Network of Portland, to the board of directors of the Maine International Trade Center.

Paul Golding, development director at Portland-based Center for Grieving Children was named president of the board for the National Alliance for Grieving Children.


James Atwell of Falmouth, Adam Lee of Cumberland, and Naomi Mermin of Portland were named to the board of the Efficiency Maine Trust by Governor John Baldacci.

The League of Women Voters of Maine named the following local residents to its board: Polly Ferguson of South Portland, retired social worker; Anne Schink of Portland, consultant with ABS Consulting; Michelle Small of Brunswick, retired attorney; Jill Ward of South Portland, non-profit consultant; and Cathie Whittenburg of Portland, director of the New England Coalition to Prevent Gun Violence. Private practice attorney Colleen Tucker of Portland was elected secretary of the board.

The Topsham Garden Club elected the following to its executive committee: Carol Williams, president; Marie Neale, vice president; Judy Hardin, secretary; Liz Volkening, treasurer.

Professional Certifications

Rebecca Darling of Scarborough, group administrator at Casco Bay EyeCare, has earned certification as a senior professional in human Resources by the HR Certification Institute.

Sarah Allard of Ring’s Marine Service in South Freeport has obtained her Maine Sea Kayak Guides License.


Keith Smith, landscape architect and associate at Terrence J. DeWan & Associates in Yarmouth, was designated as a Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Accredited Professional by the U.S. Green Building Council.

Rebecca Dillon, an architect at Scarborough-based Gawron Turgeon Architects, has earned the designation of LEED Accredited Professional by the USBC.

Kate Meyers-Coyne of Scarborough, president of Brown & Meyers, and Sid Thorne of Portland, sales manager for Brown & Meyers, have earned the Certified Document Imaging Architect (CDIA+) certification from Computing Technology Imagining Association.

Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in Cape Elizabeth sales associate, Kathleen Pierce of Cape Elizabeth, was awarded the Accredited Buyer Representative designation by the Real Estate Buyer’s Agent Council of the National Association of Realtors.

Michele Del Tergo of Portland, senior vice president and senior portfolio manager with Key Bank, and Amelia Kurtz of Scarborough, vice president and personal trust officer with Key Bank, have received the Certified Trust and Financial Advisor certification from the Institute of Certified Bankers.

Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in Cape Elizabeth, Mary Walker of South Portland, has earned the designation of Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage Relocation Specialist.

Pine Grove Child Development Center in Falmouth has earned the National Association of Education of Young Children accreditation.

Matthew A. Phillips of Terrence J. DeWan & Associates in Yarmouth, received his Landscape Architecture license for the state of Maine.

ME Deltergo.JPG

Del Tergo
Amelia Kurtz.jpgKurtz

Sidebar Elements

Ronald McDonald.jpg

Ronald McDonald House longtime volunteer, Jeff Emonds, was honored by the New England Patriots for his exemplary volunteerism and embodying the spirit of a true patriot. He was presented with an engraved wooden football and a $1,500 check for the Ronald McDonald House in Portland at a recent ceremony.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: