SOUTH PORTLAND — South Portland City Clerk Sue Mooney on Thursday said resident Wayne Ross won the the Cape Elizabeth-South Portland seat on the Portland Water District Board of Trustees in Tuesday’s election.

There were no candidates on the ballot, but 1,097 write-in votes were cast in the city and 52 in Cape Elizabeth. Ross received 77 votes – 66 votes more than Daniel Fortin, also a city resident.

Ross, a 71-year-old Franklin Terrace resident, is the former president of Southern Maine Community College and serves on the Greater Portland Public Development Commission. He also served on the city’s police hiring and retention committee.

Ross said he decided to run as a write-in candidate about a week before the election. His campaign consisted of one newspaper advertisement and word of mouth.

“This is something I always wanted to do,” Ross said. “I’m interested in good, clear water for the citizens of this area.” 

Town Clerk Debra Lane said 52 write-in votes were cast in Cape Elizabeth, where resident Doreen Theriault received seven votes and Joe Calise and Howard Littelfield, both of Cape Elizabeth, each received three votes. Cape Elizabeth residents Malcolm Weatherbie and Linda Winker received two votes each, as did South Portland resident Todd Ketcham.

The seat, which carries a five-year term, needed be filled through the electoral process. The communities do not have the option of appointing either a permanent or interim representative.  

The seat was previously held by Cape Elizabeth resident Mark Duval, who ran uncontested in a special election last January following the death of Peter Larsen, who served on the board for 14 years.

Randy Billings can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 100 or [email protected]

This report was updated on Thursday, Nov. 5.

filed under: