PORTLAND — Recently elected city councilors and School Committee members will be sworn into office Monday afternoon, Dec. 7, at City Hall.

The City Council ceremony is scheduled for noon in council chambers. Councilors Kevin Donoghue and David Marshall will be sworn in for second terms. Councilor Nick Mavodones will be sworn in for a fifth term and also is expected to be elected mayor by the council.

There will be a public reception in the State of Maine Room following the inauguration.

At 4 p.m., new and returning School Committee members will be sworn in during at a ceremony in council chambers. Ed Bryan and Jenna Vendil were elected in November for first terms. Sarah Thompson was re-elected to a second term. In a straw poll Nov. 18, the committee decided to reappoint Peter Eglinton as chairman; Kate Snyder will continue as chairwoman of the Finance Committee.


filed under: