Ryan Burgess

Mountain Valley, junior, 103

While becoming the third Mountain Valley wrestler to reach 100 career wins as a junior, Burgess went 37-5 and won his second consecutive Class B state championship.


Vanya Tomaszewski

Wells, junior, 112

Tomaszewski went 37-1 to win his third consecutive Class B championship at 112, remaining on course to set a school record for career wins.


Ethan Gilman

Massabesic, sophomore, 119

Gilman moved up from 112 pounds and was unbeaten against Maine opponents, finishing with a 34-2 record and capturing his first state title.


Matt DelGallo

Gardiner, senior, 125

DelGallo went 38-1 and became only the 14th Maine wrestler to finish his high school career with four individual state titles.


Zach Fields

Camden Hills, senior, 130

While helping the Windjammers win the Class B state championship, Fields compiled a 55-2 record and won his second consecutive individual title at 130 pounds.


Billy Gauthier

York, senior, 135

Gauthier went 44-0 to capture his third straight Class B championship after winning titles at 125 and 145 pounds. He finished his career with a school-record 143 wins.


Josh Thornton

Mountain Valley, junior, 140

A runner-up at the Class B state meet as a sophomore, Thornton went 32-12 to capture his first state title.


Marcus Bubar

Lisbon, senior, 145

While helping the Greyhounds capture their third consecutive Class C championship, Bubar went 48-2 and claimed his third consecutive individual title.


Stefan Emery

Fryeburg Academy, junior, 152

After moving up from 145 pounds, Emery won all 49 of his matches to claim his first Class B state title.


Jacob Powers

Camden Hills, junior, 160

Despite missing five weeks because of an injury, Powers went 40-2 to win his first Class B state title.


Stephen Martin

Bonny Eagle, senior, 171

While winning all but two of his matches by pinning his opponent or earning a technical fall, Martin went 42-0 and claimed his second Class A title in three seasons.


T.J. Vallee

Cony, senior, 189

A runner-up at the previous two Class A state meets, Vallee went 44-1 to capture his first state title and finished with a school-record 168 wins.


Andrew Drouin

Westbrook, senior, 215

Drouin went 39-0 to win his second consecutive Class A championship at 215 and set a school record with 141 career victories.


Henry Chandler

Mt. Ararat, senior, 285

Chandler went 44-3 on the way to his first Class A state title and amassed a school-record 130 wins.


Coach of Year

Mark Stevens


In his 11th season, Stevens guided the Greyhounds to their third consecutive Class C state championship and seventh in 10 years. Six Lisbon wrestlers won individual titles. “We train hard in practice and we spend a lot of time talking about character, sportsmanship and respect,” Stevens said. “You can be a great wrestler, but if you don’t have any of those other qualities, you don’t have much.”


— Paul Betit


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.