2009-10 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

CONOR MOLONEY, Senior-Basketball

* WMC All-Conference, third team

* WMC Senior All-Star

* WMC 3-point shooting champion

* Team MVP

If there was any doubt about Conor Moloney’s toughness or his devotion to his team, it was dispelled on Feb. 20 when Moloney took the Cumberland County Civic Center court with a severely inured ankle and did all he could to lead the Capers to a third consecutive regional championship.

His five points and inspirational leadership weren’t enough to lead the way to victory, but his performance proved to be a fitting coda to an impressive career, which saw Moloney deliver key baskets, play strong defense and do all the intangibles that create victory.

In light of his leadership, heart and strong contributions to his team, most notably his final act, Conor Moloney is The Forecaster’s choice as Cape Elizabeth’s 2009-10 Winter Male Athlete of the Year.

Moloney started playing basketball at a young age. He grew up idolizing the Cape Elizabeth high school players and became a member of the varsity team as a sophomore. That season ended with the Capers winning their first regional title in two decades before Maranacook denied their championship dreams. As a junior, Moloney played a big part on another regional champ, but Cape Elizabeth fell to Camden in the state game.

This season, Moloney and his teammates were close to unbeatable, going 17-1 in the regular year. Moloney had 10 points versus Poland, 14 against Lake Region, 13 versus Yarmouth, a season-high 20 against both Greely and York, 17 in a rematch with Greely and 12 in a stunning regular season-ending win at then-unbeaten Falmouth, which gave the Capers the top seed for the tournament.

In a quarterfinal round victory over Lake Region, Moloney had 13 points. He had seven in the semifinals, a win over Greely, but badly hurt his ankle. He gritted it out against Falmouth in the regional final, scoring five points, but Cape Elizabeth’s run ended with a 53-40 setback.

While he wasn’t at the top of any statistical categories, he strong play was evident to all and was truly appreciated by his coaching staff and his teammates, whose skills he helped elevate. Moloney was named team MVP and was a league all-star. He capped his career by winning the conference 3-point shooting contest.

Moloney, who also played golf and baseball for the Capers and is a member of Cape Coalition, wants to play golf in college. He’s deciding between High Point (N.C.), Roanoke and Susquehanna.

A youngster who grew up admiring high school heroes became one in every sense of the word. Conor Moloney, Cape Elizabeth’s 2009-10 Winter Male Athlete of the Year, proved that hard work pays off and that heart can’t be quantified.

Coach Jim Ray’s comment: “Conor was selected as our team MVP for his outstanding effort, attitude, leadership and performance throughout the season. As a coach, it’s an absolute pleasure when your best players are your hardest workers. The example they set raises the bar for the rest. Conor filled the role perfectly and team followed.”

2008-09 winner: Alex Bowe (Basketball)

2007-08 winner: Tommy Ray (Basketball)

2006-07 winner: Graham Egan (Nordic skiing)

2005-06 winner: Kevin Harrison (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Dan Rautenberg (Hockey)

2003-04 winner: Ben Weimont (Indoor track)

2002-03 winner: Luke Holden (Hockey)

2001-02 winner: Tom Alberi (Swimming)

2009-10 Winter Female Athlete of the Year

EMILY ATTWOOD, Senior-Nordic Skiing

* Class B state champion, classic

* Class B state champion, freestyle

* WMC All-Conference, first team

* WMC All-Academic team

Emily Attwood just makes it look easy.

Whether it’s being part of an absolutely dominant cross country running team in the fall or leaving every other Nordic skier in the state in her wake in the winter, she’s a marvel to watch.

Her senior ski season was nearly flawless. Attwood cruised to a pair of state titles and added to her legend. Along the way, she made her teammates better and never hesitated to work on her own skills.

For being so impressive from start to finish, Emily Attwood is The Forecaster’s choice as Cape Elizabeth’s 2009-10 Winter Female Athlete of the Year.

Attwood grew up in Cape Elizabeth and started skiing at age four. She was racing by elementary school and trains year-round. She’s had great success in the fall, running cross country. Attwood was named Fall Female Athlete of the Year in 2007 and 2008 and was runner-up at the state meet this past autumn.

She was second to none this winter.

Attwood won the prestigious Sassi Memorial freestyle race and took the Western Maine Conference freestyle championship by 12 seconds.

At the Class B state meet, Attwood won the freestyle by 15 seconds and the classic by a whopping minute, 13 seconds. She went on to place eighth in the Junior Olympics.

In addition to countless athletic accolades and accomplishments, Attwood is in the top 10 percent of her class, is a member of the National Honor Society, the co-leader of Operation Smile and participates in Senior-to-Senior, doing community service with the elderly. She also plays the piano. Next year, Attwood will head to Middlebury College, where she’ll ski and run cross country. She’s undecided on a major.

It’s a certainty that more greatness awaits at the next level. Emily Attwood, Cape Elizabeth’s 2009-10 Winter Female Athlete of the Year, has been a standout student-athlete for the ages.

Coach Shane MacDowell’s comment: “Emily is a very dedicated athlete who works hard in order to be where she is today. She was a great leader, leading by example. She was at every practice working hard and always listening to what the coaches had to say and asking what she could do to be a better skier. She’s a very good athlete to coach in the sense that she is very easy to coach. She picks things up very quickly and is very dedicated.”

2008-09 winner: Marita Stressenger (Track)

2007-08 winner: Nora Daly (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Nora Daly (Swimming)

2005-06 winner: Kinsey Tarbell (Swimming)

2004-05 winner: Kate Barton (Nordic Skiing)

2003-04 winner: Taylor McFarlane (Swimming)

2002-03 winner: Taylor McFarlane (Swimming)

2001-02 winner: Whitney Rockwell (Swimming)

Sidebar Elements



Facebook comments