PORTLAND – The Portland Regional Chamber has announced its 2010 Community Leadership Award winners, to be honored at the organization’s 156th annual dinner and award ceremony on Sept. 16.

The list of winners was announced Friday.

MaineHealth, a nonprofit corporation devoted to providing high quality, cost-efficient health care, has won the Henri A. Benoit Award for Leadership in the Private Sector.

The Neal W. Allen Award for Leadership in the Public Sector will be presented to Gov. John Baldacci.

“Having served Maine in the state’s highest office for eight years, the chamber is proud to present the governor with this renowned award,” Kerry Rasor, vice president of member services, said in a media release.

In the category of economic development, the Robert R. Masterton Award will be presented to the University of New England, which has built five buildings in the past three years.

Richard L. Connor, CEO of MaineToday Media, owner of The Portland Press Herald and the Maine Sunday Telegram, has won the President’s Award. According to Rasor, “the purchase (of the papers) has revitalized the publication, contributed to our community, and strengthened its ties to the Portland region.”

The ceremony will be held at the Holiday Inn by the Bay.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.