Jeffrey Turcotte has joined Sanford Institution for Savings as a mortgage originator for the bank’s York office. He has more than 30 years of experience.

Alison Violette of Portland will serve as environmental educator and AmeriCorps volunteer at the new Mackworth Island State Park in Falmouth. She is focusing on improving the 1.25-mile trail by clearing it for ease of use, safety and beautification.

Shannon Dunfey-Ball of South Portland will serve as environmental educator and AmeriCorps volunteer with the Susan Curtis Foundation based in Portland and Trout Lake. Her primary project is to create a hands-on environmental education curriculum that reflects the Maine Core Education Standards.

Cipperly Good has joined Penobscot Marine Museum as collections manager/curator. She comes to the museum from the Falmouth (Mass.) Historical Society, where she was curator and public relations assistant.


Pulp+Wire of Portland has been recognized in London-based Graphic Design Research United Kingdom’s global trend forecasting report for its design and product development of the new Summit Spring product, RAW Water.

Sen. Libby Mitchell, the Democratic gubernatorial candidate, was honored by the Maine Education Association with the Friend of Education Award for her strong record on education.

Susan Bennett-Armistead has been awarded the University of Maine College of Education and Human Development’s Correll Professorship in Early Literacy. She is an assistant professor of literacy and an authority on early literacy and young children’s language and literacy acquisition.

Dr. Susan Sepples was honored by the Visiting Nurses Association of America as one of five leaders for her contributions to home health care and hospice. She has served on HomeHealth Visiting Nurses’ Board of Trustees for more than 10 years.

Bret DesJardins has been recognized as one of the top automotive technicians in the state after a first-place win in a state contest. The Wells High School senior was part of a two-person team that won this year’s Ford/AAA Student Auto Skills contest.

Margaret Ross, a SeniorsPlus board of directors member, was presented the Geneva Kirk Award for Community Service by the United Way of Androscoggin County. She has been an avid volunteer for SeniorsPlus for nine years, and has become an integral part of the program.

Katahdin Bankshares Corp., parent company of Katahdin Trust Company, has been named a Top 200 Community Bank by U.S. Banker magazine.

Verso Paper Corp.’s Androscoggin Mill in Jay received the 2010 Work Healthy Silver Level Award from Healthy Community Coalition, an affiliate of Franklin County Health Network. The mill has received this award for the past three years for its efforts to keep employees healthy and safe.

Wright-Pierce has been named one of the Top 500 design firms in the country by Engineering News-Record. The company has been providing engineering services to municipalities, utilities and private clients for more than 60 years.


Keri Sewell Seitz has been confirmed as president and chief operating officer of FHC Inc. She has been with the company since 2004 and will be responsible for managing all of its operational aspects.


Maria Simpson of Rockland was elected to the board of The Apprenticeshop. She is yard manager at Rockport Marine and is an avid sailor, cyclist and volunteer teacher at the Community School in Camden.

The Labor and Employment Relations Association of Maine has elected officers for the 2010-2011 board. New officers include Robert Bourgault, president, Bryan Dench, first vice president, Rodney Hiltz, second vice president, Sheila Mayberry, secretary, and Lauren Carrier, treasurer. New board members include John C. Alfano, Karen Jalkut, Annalee Rosenblatt and Chery Lunde.

SeniorsPlus announced its board officers for 2010-2011. Incoming president is Patricia Vampatella, vice president is Leslie Hawkins, secretary Margaret Ross and continuing as treasurer is Flo Leduc-Merry. Also elected to the board was Michael Burke.