PORTLAND — WGME-TV and Maine Public Broadcasting Network have won “Station of the Year” honors in the 2009 Maine Associated Press Broadcasters Association contest.

WGME-TV took first-place awards for sportscast, sports feature, spots news, feature and medical reporting, while WMTW-TV had first-place finishes for newscast, election coverage and weathercast and WABI-TV took first for public affairs, enterprise and continuous coverage.

On the radio side, MPBN’s first-place awards included newscast, public affairs, enterprise, feature and writing. WGAN-AM took first for spot news and election coverage. WZON-AM won for sportscast, sports feature and sports play-by-play.