The top Super Late Model drivers in the Pro All-Stars Series will converge on Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough this weekend to race for $10,000 as well as points in the national standings.

Sunday’s 300-lap race is one of only six races in which drivers can earn points in the national standings. The top four drivers in the current standings are expected to compete.

PASS South drivers Preston Peltier of Harrisburg, N.C., and Jay Fogleman of Durham, N.C., lead the overall standings, but PASS North leaders Ben Rowe of Turner and Johnny Clark of Hallowell are within striking distance.

Last Sunday, Clark, who has finished in the top 10 in all 11 of his PASS North starts, pocketed more than $26,000 by winning the Auto Value 250 at Speedway 660 in Geary, New Brunswick.

Rowe, who has won twice this season, also has finished in the top 10 in 10 races. Cassius Clark of Farmington has eight top-10 finishes. Two weeks ago, Trevor Sanborn of East Parsonfield, who grew up racing at Beech Ridge, is fresh from his first PASS North win at Riverside Speedway in Groveton, N.H.

Racing starts tonight with competition in the four-cylinder Runnin’ Rebels, the 4-cylinder Might Trucks, the eight-cylinder Mad Bombers and the eight-cylinder Outlaws.

Practice from noon to 6 p.m. Friday are open to the public.

Qualifying for the Super Late Models, Mods and Sportsman, plus feature racing for the Road Runners, Wildcats and Legends divisions, is scheduled for Saturday. Racing heats will start at noon.

In addition to the sixth annual PASS 300 on Sunday, a 50-lap feature for Mods, a 100-lap feature for Sportsman and a 50-lap feature for Mini Stocks are scheduled. Racing will start at 12:15 p.m.

FOUR MORE DRIVERS from Maine have been invited to participate in the second ACT Invitational for Late Models on Sept. 18 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in Loudon, N.H.

An ACT rookie, Bradley Babb of Windham, Glen Luce of Turner, Scott Luce of Strong and Shawn Martin of Turner were added to the list, bringing the total number of invitees to 35 drivers.

Previously, Ricky Rolfe of Albany Township, ACT rookie Austin Theriault of Fort Kent and Dennis Spencer Jr. of Oxford were awarded spots in the 43-car starting grid.

Invitations will made to eight more drivers Monday.

THE RACING SEASON ends Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Tim Brackett of Buckfield goes into the final points race of the season in the Late Models, the track’s top racing division, with a seven-point lead over Martin. But both Corey Morgan of Lewiston and Tommy Ricker of Poland have shots at the top spot should the front-runners falter.

Staff Writer Paul Betit can be contacted at 791-6424 or at:

[email protected]