AUGUSTA — Now a minority in Maine’s House of Representatives for the first time in three decades, Democrats will choose their floor leaders for the upcoming two-year session – but not a speaker.

Competitive races have taken shape leading up to today’s votes for two leadership posts.

For minority leader, the candidates are Reps. Emily Cain of Orono, Seth Berry of Bowdoinham and Cynthia Dill of Cape Elizabeth.

The three candidates for whip are Reps. Michael Carey of Lewiston, Teresa Hayes of Buckfield and Sharon Treat of Hallowell.

Voters earlier this month put Republicans in charge of the House for the first time since the 1972 election.

The Republicans have already selected their leaders for the new session, picking Rep. Robert Nutting of Oakland as their choice for speaker.