NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — The Bowdoin College field hockey team won a penalty-stroke shootout to claim their third NCAA Division III championship, 2-1, today over Messiah College  at Christopher Newport University.

McKenna Teague notched the winner as the Polar Bears (20-1) claimed the shootout by a 3-1 margin.

Bowdoin also won titles in 2007 and 2008.