Jamie Ross of Deering and Peter Gwilym of Cheverus are among a dozen senior football players named Wednesday as semifinalists for the James J. Fitzpatrick Trophy.

The other semifinalists are Kyle Bishop, Waterville; Maxwell Cloutier, Leavitt; Michael Cyr, Scarborough; Ethan Drigotas, Kennebunk; Nicholas Gagne, Biddeford; Jonathan Haws, Hampden Academy; Cameron Kaubris, Mountain Valley; Caleb Kenney, Portland; Nicholas Proscia, Yarmouth and Joshua Woodward, Thornton Academy.

The three finalists will be announced in December. The annual Fitzpatrick Trophy banquet will be held January 16th in Portland. The Fitzpatrick Trophy is awarded each year to the top senior high school football player in Maine.

Ross and Gwilym are quarterbacks who also played other valuable roles for their teams. Last Saturday, Gwilym led the Stags to the Class A state title and an unbeaten season. Ross had a record setting year for Deering as he threw for 20 touchdowns and ran for 21 more. Two weeks ago in the Western Maine Class A final, the pair locked up in a classic game, won by Cheverus, 35-34