Biddeford’s Grigware named Maine’s top volleyball player

Keila Grigware of Biddeford has been named Maine’s Gatorade volleyball player of the year.

Grigware, a senior outside hitter, is the first Biddeford volleyball player to receive the honor. She led the Tigers to a 15-1 record and the school’s first Class A title, recording 212 kills, 106 digs and 60 service aces.


OLYMPICS: The president of the Puerto Rican Basketball Federation said the national team is in “very advanced talks” with Louisville Coach Rick Pitino about coaching the club in pre-Olympic qualifying next summer.


BOSTON MARATHON: Americans Kara Goucher and Desiree Davila have joined the women’s field for the Boston Marathon on April 18.

Goucher, who finished third in Boston in 2009, will run her first marathon since the birth of her son in September. She also finished third in New York in 2008.

Davila finished 18th at Boston in 2007 and ran the fastest marathon by an American in 2010, with a fourth-place finish in Chicago.

No American woman has won in Boston since Lisa Larsen-Weidenbach in 1985.


PILOT PEN SWITCH: The men’s tuneup before the U.S. Open is moving from New Haven, Conn., to Winston-Salem, N.C., starting in August.

Formerly known as the Pilot Pen, the Winston-Salem tournament will be held Aug. 21-27 and serve as the final warm-up before the year’s final Grand Slam tournament, the U.S. Tennis Association and ATP World Tour announced.

HOPMAN CUP: Nicholas Mahut and John Isner will meet in the Hopman Cup next month in what will be the their first rematch since they shared the longest match in pro tennis history at Wimbledon in June.

Mahut was named to replace Gael Monfils on the French team for the mixed tournament. He will partner with Kristina Mladenovic after Monfils’ withdrew with a knee injury.

Isner already had been named to represent the United States, and the pair are due to clash in the Jan. 3 singles.


HONORS FOR MCDOWELL: U.S. Open champion and Ryder Cup standout Graeme McDowell won the Golf Writers’ Trophy for 2010, presented by the Association of Golf Writers to the top European performer.

The AGW said McDowell narrowly beat out the winning Ryder Cup team. Martin Kaymer, who won the PGA Championship and captured the Order of Merit, finished third. He was followed by Lee Westwood, who became the first European in 18 years to be No. 1 in the world.


CLUB WORLD CUP: TP Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of Congo became the first African team to reach the Club World Cup final, upsetting Copa Libertadores champion Internacional of Brazil 2-0 at Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.


-From staff and news services