Leonardo’s Pizza begins
year-long donation plan

PORTLAND — Leonardo’s Pizza in Portland has begun its inaugural year-long donation plan to Portland nonprofits.

Every month, the pizzeria will donate 10 cents per pizza, up to $1,000 per month, to a selected Portland charitable organization.

Upcoming charitable partners, by month, are Sexual Assault Response of Southern Maine, February; Wayside Southern Maine, March; Community Counseling Center, April; The Iris Network, May; Frannie Peabody Center, June; Day One, July; Youth Alternatives Ingraham, August; Boys & Girls Clubs of Southern Maine, September; Kids First Center, October; Center for Grieving Children, November; Preble Street, December; and Big Brothers Big Sisters, January, 2012.

Leonardo’s Pizza is located at 415 Forest Ave., Portland. Take-out is available by calling 775-4444 or online at leonardosonline.com.

Good Deeds

Scarborough lawyer Dan Warren raised more than $1,000 for local youth organizations from fundraising for the Maine Marathon. Receiving the donations were Scarborough High School’s Mock Trial Team, the Catherine McAuley Field Hockey Team, and the Libby-Mitchell American Legion Post 76 baseball team. His time in the Maine Marathon qualified him to run in the 2011 Boston Marathon. In the upcoming Boston Marathon, Warren will be fundraising for the Westbrook Animal Shelter, the Scarborough Middle School Student Council, the Catherine McAuley Drama Club, and the Libby-Mitchell American Legion Baseball New Uniform Fund. For information, contact Dan Warren at 883-4l67 or [email protected]

The Greater Portland Dental Society recently hosted its second annual “Dentists Who Care for ME” event providing a day of free dental care. Approximately 500 people were treated, and more than 100 dentists, oral surgeons, hygienists, assistants and office staff volunteered for the event. Dr. Demi Kouzounas, co-organizer, estimated the value of dental treatments at $140,000.

Evergreen Credit Union recently contributed $12,700 to four groups that feed the hungry in the Greater Portland area. The donation will be divided among the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Portland, Naples Food Pantry, South Portland Food Cupboard and the Windham Food Pantry.

The Planet Dog Foundation recently hosted its annual amateur dog show and fundraiser, Woofminster, and raised over $5,000 for Guiding Eyes for the Blind’s Maine puppy-raising team. The Best in Show and the Cover Dog Challenge winner was “Jake,” an English Setter belonging to Laura O’Hanlon of South Portland.

The McDonald’s at 332 St. John St. in Portland recently donated $9,241 to the Ronald McDonald House of Portland, from donations raised during its seventh annual Sea Dogs Parking Fundraiser. The St. John Street McDonald’s is owned and operated by George, Edie and Scott Lydick. Edie Lydick also serves on the Portland Ronald McDonald House board of directors.


EqualityMaine and EqualityMaine Foundation has named Timothy Diehl of Brunswick as its new board president. Diehl is currently the director of career planning at Bowdoin College. Other board officers elected were Fay Brodell, treasurer; Shawn LaGrega, vice president EqualityMaine; Brian Randall, secretary; and Barb Wood, vice president EqualityMaine Foundation. Board member David Cohan also serves on the two organizations’ joint executive committee.

Jeanne Gulnick of Peaks Island has been appointed to the board of directors of the Natural Resources Council of Maine. Gulnick is a professor at Saint Joseph’s College, where she teaches ecology and serves as the campus sustainability coordinator.

Pierce Atwood associate attorney Rebecca Greenfield has been appointed to the Avesta Housing board of directors.

Doug Bagin of Cape Elizabeth was named the chairman of the Portland chapter of SCORE: Skilled Counselors Offering Real Experience, a nonprofit that counsels small businesses.

The United Way of Greater Portland recently elected five new members to its board of directors. They are David Bass, vice president, associate relations at Delhaize America; Bill Fletcher, partner at Verrill Dana LLP; Greg McCarthy, vice president, information services and health plan operations at Martin’s Point Health Care; Deanna Sherman, vice president, petroleum division at Dead River Company; and Nicole Witherbee, founder and managing partner at PolicyEdge.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Southern Maine, which provides one-on-one mentoring of children in Cumberland and York Counties, recently elected a new president and named six new members to serve on its board of directors. Karen True Winslow of Wintergreen Financial Group was elected president. The new members of the board are Bill Burbine of Turner Barker Insurance; Molly Callaghan of Verrill Dana; Caleb DuBois of Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson; Brooke Holmes of Berry, Dunn, McNeil & Parker; Chuck Piacentini of UNUM; and Kirsten Piacentini of L.L. Bean.

Amy Thomas of Scarborough has been appointed president of the board of Junior Achievement of Maine, a nonprofit that provides financial education and work readiness to Maine students.  

The Supreme Judicial Court has appointed Gregory T. Caswell of Falmouth to serve as a member of the Board of Overseers of the Bar. Caswell is one of two principals in the Caswell Vlachos Group, LLC, a mergers and acquisitions/sell-side advisory firm in Portland.

Gorham Savings Bank has appointed Joe Malone of Portland, president and founder of Malone Commercial Brokers, to its board of directors.

Maine Real Estate & Development Association, MEREDA, recently inducted Tim O’Neil of Monks O’Neil Development in Portland and Carol Epstein of Epstein Commercial Real Estate in Bangor into its council of directors emeritus. The honorary council is comprised of a group of individuals who have made significant contributions to both MEREDA and Maine’s commercial real estate industry.  

Verrill Dana attorney Sarah Coburn of Portland was recently elected to the board of directors of the conservation organization, Friends of Casco Bay/Casco Baykeeper.

Members of the Shalom House, Inc. board of directors elected new members and officers of the board at its annual meeting. Elected for two-year terms were William Keefer, Sanford Housing Authority; David O’Connell, Benchmark; Marianne Stover, Harborview Investments; Thomas Trenholm, Drummond Woodsum; and Jay Waterman, Fore Solutions. Officers of the board are Mark B. Adelson, president; Kitty Purington, vice president; Susan Lichtman, secretary; and William Saufley, treasurer.

Sidebar Elements





filed under: