2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year:

IAN MOORE, Freshman-Nordic skiing

* Class C state champion, freestyle

* WMC All-Star, first team

The North Yarmouth Academy boys’ Nordic ski team made history this winter, thanks in large part to a freshman who burst on to the scene with a series of dominating performances.

Ian Moore’s success is the result of a lot of hard work and training and it’s already clear he’s going to be something special on the trails for many years to come.

For being so dominant from the get-go, for leading his team to greatness and for performing at a level well beyond his years, Ian Moore is The Forecaster’s choice for North Yarmouth Academy’s 2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year.

Moore is from Freeport and has skied almost as long as he could walk. He benefited from participation in competitive programs and training groups based in Maine and Massachusetts and clearly is a step ahead due to that devotion.

Moore, last year’s middle school champion, came to NYA for his freshman year and won a state title this fall in cross country running. This winter, he  surpassed all expectations.

Moore consistently posted strong times and finishes in the regular season. At the Western Maine Conference championships, he came in second in the classic and third in the freestyle, posting the best score of any Class C skier.

At the state meet, NYA made history in large part to Moore’s win the freestyle (he finished 38 seconds ahead of the runner-up) race and second-place showing in the classical (10 seconds behind teammate Cam Regan).

Following the high school season, Moore was busy with Junior Olympic races and skied as far away as Minnesota as the only Nordic skier in his age group from Maine. He hopes to compete with the Eastern High School team in future years.

Moore will compete on the outdoor track team this spring. He’s also an honors student, plays the cello in the string ensemble and is an elite mountain biker (winning the Bradbury Mountain bike race on multiple occasions). He hopes to win states again and continue to make a mark on the regional and national level before his time in high school is done.

He’s already made a quite a mark. Ian Moore, NYA’s 2010-11 Winter Male Athlete of the Year, will continue to build on his legend going forward.

Coach Kalie Dunn’s comment: “Ian certainly worked very hard to achieve his goals for his freshman season. His success can be attributed his hard work and determination in the offseason. Ian also has amazing determination and is very focused on his training and racing. He is a very energetic individual and has a unique ability to harness his all of his energy into his races. He was an integral part of the NYA team this season, often placing first for the team in many races. I was delighted that I had the opportunity to coach Ian this season. He came to practice with a positive attitude and willingness to learn. He was constantly looking for ways to improve his technique and truly respected and supported my coaching. I look forward to coaching him again next season.”

2009-10 winner: Henry Sterling (Track)

2008-09 winner: Henry Sterling (Track)

2007-08 winner: Ian Nichols (Swimming)

2006-07 winner: Chris Engel (Swimming)

2005-06 winner: Rob Carpenter (Indoor track)

2004-05 winner: Tim DeLuca (Basketball)

2003-04 winner: Dan Bartlett (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Steve Lawrence (Hockey)

2001-02 winner: Matt Smith (Hockey)

2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year:

BLAIR HAGGETT, Senior-Basketball

* WMC Class C all-star, first team

* WMC All-Academic team

* WMC Senior All-Star

* Team captain

The North Yarmouth Academy girls’ basketball program took another huge step forward this winter, making it to the tournament and posting a winning record.

Leading the way was one of the best players in the conference, senior Blair Haggett, who capped a superb high school career with an all-star caliber performance.

For helping restore a program, for being a student of the game, who made the most of her time on the court, and for consistently coming up with stellar efforts, Blair Haggett is The Forecaster’s choice for NYA’s 2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year.

Haggett grew up in Wiscasset and has been at NYA since her freshman year, which was when she started playing varsity basketball. While she also plays soccer in the fall and after playing lacrosse and tennis in the past, will play softball this spring, basketball has been her top sport and it’s been apparent during her high school career.

Haggett started all four seasons and earned all-star mention as a junior. This season, she had several big-time performances.

Haggett had 12 points in the Panthers’ initial victory, over Hebron, scored 15 versus Lake Region, 13 against Pine Tree Academy, 14 versus Old Orchard Beach, a season-high 21 in a win over Yarmouth, 16 against Hyde, 15 versus Freeport, 13 against Sacopee and 15 versus Traip.

Wins of six of their final eight games put the Panthers in the tournament. They lost in the preliminary round, at St. Dom’s, Haggett bowed out with nine points. She was again named a first-team all-star, qualified for the All-Academic team and playing in the Senior All-Star Game.

Haggett also volunteers with Alzheimer’s patients and plays tenor drum in NYA’s Steel Band. She is deciding on what college to attend and would like play basketball is possible.

That could be a very good thing for a fortunate school. Blair Haggett, NYA’s 2010-11 Winter Female Athlete of the Year, makes any team better just by her very presence.

Coach Liz Smith’s comment: “Blair has been a four-year starter and two-year captain. Her impact on the girls’ basketball program has been huge. When she came to NYA as a freshman the team had been winning three games a season. This year, we won 10 games. She led our team in every single category, including rebounding from the guard position. She has tremendous court sense and is solid under pressure, often shooting 100 percent from the foul line in the fourth quarter. Her love of basketball, intensity on the court, and relaxed attitude off the court set the tone for the team. Blair has made my life easier the past two seasons and we’ll miss her next year.”

2009-10 winner: Emily McKinnon (Swimming)

2008-09 winner: Courtney Dumont (Hockey)

2007-08 winner: Courtney Dumont (Hockey)

2006-07 winner: Ingrid Knowles (Nordic skiing)

2005-06 winner: Ingrid Knowles (Nordic skiing)

2004-05 winner: Kathryn Engel (Swimming)

2003-04 winner: Teddy Fortin (Hockey)

2002-03 winner: Bobbi Dennison (Basketball)

2001-02 winner: Ashley Spicer (Basketball)

Sidebar Elements