PORTLAND — Unum and the Portland Sea Dogs will honor nine Maine teachers before Friday’s 7 p.m. home game against the Bowie Baysox.

The Starting 9 will be introduced during the seventh annual Maine Teachers’ Hall of Fame recognition ceremony at Hadlock Field.

The 2011 Starting 9 are: Jane Jameson, Riverton Elementary School, Portland; Cathy Dodge, Park Ave. Elementary School, Auburn; Gail Martin, Saccarappa Elementary School, Westbrook; Debbie Gray, Wiscasset Middle School; Kristen Hobbs, Noble Middle School/Knowlton School, Berwick; Lynn Ouellette, Dr. Levesque Elementary School, Frenchville; Jennifer Major, South Portland High School; Gerry St. Denis, Region Ten Technical High School, Brunswick; and Robyn Fink, South Portland High School.

The program also will honor the 2011 Maine Teacher of the Year, Shelly Moody of Williams Elementary School in Oakland, as team manager of this year’s Starting 9.

Unum invited school principals across Maine to nominate teachers who have increased student achievement. A committee selected the winners based on their creativity and innovation in the classroom.

Each honoree will receive eight tickets to the game, a $500 personal check and the opportunity to throw the ceremonial first pitch prior to the game while sporting a personalized Sea Dogs uniform and baseball cap.