Wright Express Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer Mike Dubyak was named a finalist for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year 2011 New England Award. The awards program recognizes entrepreneurs who demonstrate excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities.

Portland resident Susan Nason of Clark Insurance was named the 2011 Insurance Professional of the Year by the Insurance Professionals of Greater Portland. The award recognized her years as a champion of insurance education and for mentoring young people entering the profession.

Jane Jameson
, a second grade teacher at Riverton Elementary School, was one of nine teachers in Maine to be newly inducted to the Maine Teacher Hall of Fame. A recent celebration was held for the inductees during a Sea Dogs game at Hadlock Field, where each teacher received a personal check for $500, a personalized Sea Dogs uniform top, eight game tickets for eight and the opportunity to participate in Unum’s on-field ceremony.

The Galen Moses House B&B received the Bath Community Forestry Committee’s 2011 Award for Outstanding Landscaping. Owners Larry Kieft and James Haught accepted the award at a special ceremony that coincided with the City of Bath’s celebration of Arbor Week.

The 2011 Maine EMS Award recipients were recently announced. Receiving the Governor’s Award, which recognizes exceptional contribution to the EMS system, was Dr. Peter DiPietrantonio D.O., of Brunswick, an emergency physician at Parkview Hospital. An Excellence in EMS Award was given to Anthony Attardo, EMT-P of Scarborough, a member of Scarborough Fire Rescue.

New England Rehabilitation Hospital presented several awards at their annual Employee Appreciation Day celebration. Shelley Coull, physical therapist, of Portland, earned the Caregiver of the Year Award for her tireless dedication to people with amputations and her respect for her patients as Amputee Program Leader. Mary Ellen White of Portland, director of Health Information Management Systems, received two awards, the Employee of the Year Award and the Outstanding Achievement Award. The awards were given in recognition of her expertise in HIPAA, working with physicians to support their success in meeting regulatory requirements and for improving information management systems.


The Maine Association of Nonprofits, a statewide organization that provides management support services, programs and resources to Maine’s nonprofit sector, appointed five new board members to three-year terms; three current members to second, three-year terms; and elected a new roster of board officers. Board members newly appointed to a three-year term are Leonard Cole, attorney with Preti Flaherty; Ellen Golden, senior vice president for development at Coastal Enterprises Inc.; Lisa Miller, senior program officer of the Bingham Program; Julia St Germaine, assistant vice president of marketing communications at Unum; and Megan Williams, executive director of Hardy Girls Healthy Women. Board members appointed to a second three-year term are William Floyd, executive director of the Genesis Community Loan Fund; Tracy Michaud-Stutzman, executive director of Maine Crafts Association; and Cathy Ramsdell, executive director of Friends of Casco Bay. Elected as board officers for a one-year term are Jennifer Hutchins, executive director of the Portland Arts and Cultural Alliance and Creative Portland, president; Kathryn Davis, president of the United Way of York County, vice president; Cathy Ramsdell, treasurer; and Jane Richmond, director of operations for The Nature Conservancy, as secretary.

Michael Record, owner of The Board Barn in Cumberland, was recently elected to the board of directors for the North Eastern Lumber Manufacturer’s Association.

KeyBank has appointed Susan Baracco, founder and president of Echelon Circles in Portland, a private organization providing mentoring for women business leaders, to the national Key4Women Advisory Board, a Key Bank program for women business owners.

Eric Blom,
a vice president at Broadreach Public Relations, was recently elected to the board of directors of South Portland-based Port Resources Inc., a non-profit providing specialized social services for people with developmental disabilities.

Tasha vanderLinde Irving of Falmouth was one of seven trustees elected to a five-year term on the Bowdoin College board of trustees. Irving, a member of the Bowdoin class of 1982, founded the Touchstone Community School, an independent cooperative elementary school, in Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada.

Matt Early of Scarborough, senior vice president of the business services group at Gorham Savings Bank, was elected as a board member of the Maine Real Estate & Development Association, MEREDA, a statewide organization of commercial real estate owners, developers and related service providers.  

Bernstein Shur announced that attorneys Scot E. Draeger of Falmouth, Andru H. “Andy” Volinsky of Concord, N.H., and Patricia A. “Pat” Peard of Falmouth have been selected by their colleagues to serve as members on the firm’s board of directors. They join current board members and firm attorneys, Patrick Scully, Joan Fortin, and CEO Charles Miller.

The Studio Theatre of Bath recently announced its new members and officers of the board of directors for the 2011-2012 season. Board officers are Bob Reed, president; Amie E. Marzen, vice president; Sherry Watson, secretary; and Pam Frampton, treasurer. Serving as board members are Christina Boyington, Susan Elwell, Calvin Hooker, Colin Kelley, Wayne Otto, April Joy Purinton, Justin C. St. Louis, Margie Sunderland, and Belita Velizco.

The University of New England
named seven new members elected to its board of trustees for three-year terms. Newly-elected members of UNE’s Board of Trustees are: David L. Anderson Ph.D., managing director, Supply Chain Ventures of Biddeford; Grover C. Gilmore Ph.D., Dean of the Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences and Professor of Psychology and Social Work at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio; Joseph Kenneally D.M.D. of Kennebunk; Patricia J. Phillips D.O., of Yarmouth; Nancy St. John Pond of Cape Elizabeth; Richard M. Roderick of Cape Elizabeth; and Barbara Ross-Lee of West Bloomfield, Mich. D.O., vice president for Health Sciences and Medical Affairs at New York Institute of Technology and executive director of the Institute for National Health Policy and Leadership.

Sidebar Elements






filed under: