FARMINGTON — Maine is taking another step toward establishment of charter schools in the state.

The Legislature authorized charter schools earlier this year. Today, the state Board of Education appointed the first three members of the state Charter School Commission, as called for in the new law.

The new commissioners, James A. Banks Sr. of Portland, Marilyn Temple Tardy of Palmyra and Jana Lapoint of Falmouth, all state board members, must now nominate four more members. The other state Board of Education members will vote on those nominations.

The commission will help shape public charter schools in Maine, the 41st state to adopt legislation to allow them. Maine’s law allows up to 10 public charter schools statewide during the law’s first 10 years.