• Mark Eves returned to Sweetser as the director of business development. Eves, of North Berwick, has more than 10 years of direct care and administrative experience in community-based mental health services. 

• Maggie Murphy of York joined the psychiatric medication management team at Sweetser in Brunswick. Murphy has been in private practice in Portsmouth, N.H. for the past 11 years. 

• Joyce Poirier joined Mercy Hospital’s All About Women Practice on Fore River Parkway as a certified nurse midwife. Poirier was the first nurse manager at The Birthplace at Mercy Hospital in 1985. She then opened Back Cove Midwives in Portland in 2001. 


• John Burcke was promoted vice president and small business team leader at Kennebunk Savings. Burcke has more than 14 years of experience in the banking industry. He was previously the retail market manager for Kennebunk’s office in Portsmouth, N.H. 

• Laura Kass of Sanford was named regional director of Counseling Services, Inc.’s Biddeford clinical office. Kass has nearly 20 years working in the social services field. She was most recently CSI’s director of adult and residential services. 


• Jane Amero, Patricia Deisler, Chip Harris, Andrew Hertler and Tom Polko were appointed to the Maine Cancer Foundation’s board of directors. For more information about the board, go to

• William Knowles, an attorney with Verrill Dana, LLP in Portland, was named president of the Pine Tree Legal Assistance board of directors. Knowles has served on the board since 1996.

• Blaine Riggle, assistant vice president and senior counsel at Unum, was appointed to Pine Tree Legal Assistance for a two-year term. 

• Dean Paterson and Penny Plourde were named to the board of directors for the Pine Tree Society. Paterson is sole proprietor of HealthCare Solutions and Plourde is president of Plourde & Associates.

• Pine Tree Society also elected the following officers: Emily Fuller Hawkins, president of family real estate corporation, president; Gerard Queally, chief financial officer of Harbor Family Services, first vice president; Paul Jacques, deputy commissioner of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, second vice president; Diane Gilbert, legal entity reporting manager for TD Bank, treasurer; and Cheryl Timberlake, president of Capitol Insights, secretary. 

• Nancy W. McBrady, an environmental lawyer at Preti Flaherty, joined The Nature Conservancy of Maine’s board of trustees. McBrady practices environmental law and has worked extensively on complex litigation and substantial permitting efforts since joining Preti Flaherty in 2007. 


• Howard M. Solomon will receive 2011 Sampson Center for Diversity in Maine Catalyst for Change Award. Solomon is a retired professor of history at Tufts and later the University of Southern Maine and a scholar-in-residence for the Sampson Center’s LGBT Collection. He lives in Bowdoinham. 

• Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage New England announced that its website,, was presented the Real Estate Standard of Excellence award by the Web Marketing Association. It’s the sixth consecutive year that has been honored by the association. 

• Cool As A Moose was named the 2011 Merchant of the Year by the Maine Merchants Association. The retailer was recognized for its commitment to Maine as a locally-owned business; its statewide presence with locations in Bar Harbor, Brunswick, Freeport and Portland; and its leadership of social media to expand their marketability beyond the Maine border.