AUGUSTA — Two more Maine cities are moving to ban fireworks.

Lewiston City Council voted Tuesday night to outlaw fireworks. Augusta came closer to banning the sale and use of fireworks within city limits as a vote was scheduled for Thursday. Portland has already banned fireworks.

The cities’ votes follow passage of a state law that will allow consumer fireworks in Maine for the first time in decades, starting Jan 1. Municipalities may regulate fireworks within their borders.

Lewiston’s vote came despite concerns that some people will still bring fireworks in to the city.

In Augusta, a vote was prompted by safety concerns raised by Fire Chief Roger Audette. Councilor Edward Coffin says that before fireworks were banned, people used to regularly lose eyes and fingers.