PORTLAND — Several crowded legislative races took shape last week as party-affiliated candidates filed to run for state House and Senate seats.

Primary elections will be needed in three city districts.

State Sen. Justin Alfond, a Democrat, is seeking a third term representing District 8, which includes the peninsula, the islands, the University of Southern Maine neighborhood, and the western neighborhoods along Congress Street and Brighton Avenue to the Westbrook line.

Hoping to unseat Alfond are Republican Andrea Doherty and Asher Platts, a Green Independent.

Republican Kirsten Martin and Democrat Anne Haskell are in a two-way race to represent Senate District 9, where Sen. Joseph Brannigan, D-Portland, is not seeking re-election. District 9 represents the Back Cove, Deering, North Deering and East Deering neighborhoods and part of the city of Westbrook.

In House District 113, Rep. Mark Dion, D-Portland, is challenged by Republican Bruce Micucci of Portland.  District 113 includes parts of Portland and Falmouth.

In House District 114, incumbent Rep. Peter Stuckey, a Democrat, is challenged by Republican Eric Bleicken.

The race for the House District 115 seat held by Rep. Stephen Lovejoy, a Democrat who is not seeking re-election, drew a field of five candidates. Democrats Erik Jorgensen, Justin Costa and Malory O. Shaughnessy will compete in a June 12 primary.

Republican Christopher Jordan and Green Independent Seth Berner are also looking to represent District 115 in Augusta.

In House District 116, incumbent Rep. Denise Harlow, a Democrat, is challenged by Republican Richard Dodge, a former Portland mayoral candidate.

A crowded race also emerged in House District 117, with four candidates looking to replace Rep. Anne Haskell, who is running for state Senate. Republican David Caron will run against the winner of a Democratic primary where the candidates are Anthony Donovan, Richard Farnsworth and Dauna Webb Binder.

Four candidates are vying to replace House District 118 Rep. Jon Hinck, who is hoping to become the Democratic candidate to replace U.S. Sen. Olympia Snowe. Democrats Dillon Bates and Matthew Moonen will face off in a June 12 primary; the winner will face Thomas MacMillan, a Green Independent, and Republican Chase Martin in the November election.

Republican Gwendolyn Tuttle and Democrat Herbert Adams are challenging unenrolled Rep. Benjamin Chipman in House District 119.

Incumbent Rep. Diane Russell, a Democrat who represents District 120, is challenged by Republican Davian Akers and Green Independent Keita Whitten.

Cumberland County Commissioner James Cloutier, a Democrat from Portland, is seeking another term representing District 5. He is challenged by former Commissioner Esther Clenott, also a Democrat from Portland.

Cumberland County Register of Probate John O’Brien of Portland is challenged by Nancy Thurber, a Democrat from Falmouth.

The deadline was March 15 for party candidates to file nomination papers with the secretary of state’s office. Unenrolled candidates have until June 1 to file.

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Gillian Graham can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 125 or [email protected]. Follow Gillian on Twitter: @grahamgillian.

filed under: