(Ed. Note: Basketball all-stars were recapped in last week’s paper)

All-star performances were the norm across the winter sports spectrum this year.

In boys’ hockey, Scarborough junior forward Jack Rousselle and senior defenseman Ryan Johnston made the Southern Maine Activities Association’s first team.

Scarborough senior forward Jordan Bathe, sophomore forward Cam Loiselle, senior defenseman Joe Cronin, sophomore defenseman Ryan Bailer and junior goalie Dalton Finley were named to the second team.

Scarborough’s Garrett McDonald was an honorable mention.

Scarborough’s Damien Ramsdell qualified for the All-Academic team.

Scarborough’s Bathe, Cronin and Johnston were named Senior All-Stars.

Johnston was a semifinalist for the Travis Roy Award.

In Western B boys’ hockey, Cape Elizabeth senior forward Nick Breed and senior goalie Kirby Saari made the first team.

Saari was also named Goaltender of the Year.

Breed, Saari and teammates Donald Clark and Connor Logan all represented the West in the Class B Senior All-Star Game.

On the girls’ side, the All-West region first team included Scarborough sophomore goalie Devan Kane and junior forward Sarah Martens.

Scarborough freshman forward Alyssa Hulst and Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete freshman forward Kathryn Clark made the second team.

Indoor track featured many local all-stars.

The SMAA boys’ first team included Scarborough’s Michael Pino (junior shot put), Wout Moulin (one mile), Robert Hall (two-mile), Alec James (pole vault) and the open 1,600 sprint medley relay team (Ryan Jamison, Merrick Madden, Greg Viola and Nick Morris).

Scarborough’s Austin Doody (200), Jacob Bloom (junior 800), Cameron Langlois (55 hurdles), Mike Tudor (senior 800) and Hall (one mile) and South Portland’s Duncan Preston (junior triple jump and junior shot put) and Sacre Bahati (pole vault) all made the second team.

Third-teamers included Scarborough’s Doody (junior 55), Alex Karam (junior 800), Tudor (open 600), Jack Sullivan (two-mile) and Jamison (senior 200) and South Portland’s Ben Michaud (junior 200 and junior triple jump) and Matthew Stearns (junior long jump)

On the girls’ side, in the SMAA, the first team featured Scarborough’s Morgan Rodway (junior 55 and junior 200), Emily Tolman (senior 800 and open 600), Andrea Tolman (pole vault) and the Red Storm’s 800 (Jessica Meader, Andrea Tolman, Avery Pietras and Nicole Kirk) and 1,600 (Kirk, Katherine Kirk, Karli-An Gilbert and Emily Tolman) relay teams,. along with South Portland’s 1,600 sprint medley relay (Angela Tirabassi, Erin Bogdanovich, Clara Ellis and Nyajock Pan).

Scarborough’s Katherine Kirk (junior 400), Nicole Kirk (senior 55 and senior 200), Sarah Rinaldi (junior high jump), Emily Tolman (senior 400)and Catherine Bailey (pole vault) and South Portland’s Lauren Magnuson (junior 55) made the second team.

Scarborough’s Katherine Kirk (junior 200), Jessica Meader (senior 200), Andrea Tolman (senior triple jump) and Emily Tolman (senior long jump) and South Portland’s Magnuson (junior 400) and Cheyenne Coombs (senior high jump) were third teamers.

In the Western Maine Conference, Cape Elizabeth’s Billy Brooks made the boys’ second team in the 200.

Cape Elizabeth’s Hannah Newhall was a girls’ second teamer in the pole vault.

In the pool, the boys’ all-conference first team featured Cape Elizabeth’s Evan Long (200 medley relay, 200 freestyle relay and 50 freestyle) and Marcus Cloutier (200 free relay and 400 free relay).

Cloutier (50 free and 100 backstroke) and Long (100 breaststroke) were also on the second team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Tom Robinson (200 free) and Ken Flathers (diving) were third teamers.

On the girls’ side, Cape Elizabeth’s Hannah Homans (200 medley relay and 200 free relay) and Heather Kraft (200 free relay and 400 free relay) were first teamers.

Cape Elizabeth’s Homans (50 free and 100 backstroke) Kraft (100 free and 100 breaststroke), Sidney Wight (100 butterfly, 200 medley relay and 400 free relay) and Gabrielle Cloutier (200 free relay) made the second team.

Wight (200 free) was also on the third team.

On the slopes and trails, the SMAA girls’ skiing all-conference team included Abby Mills and Megan McAlary of conference champion Scarborough.

McAlary also qualified for the All-Academic team.

In the WMC, Cape Elizabeth’s Sam Barber and Curtis Alexander qualified for the boys’ Alpine all-star team.

Cape Elizabeth’s Emma Landes made the girls’ Alpine team.

On the Nordic side, Cape Elizabeth’s Dana Hatton made the girls’ all-conference squad.

The SMAA cheering first-team included Scarborough’s Hallee Flaherty and Kayla Chamberlain.

Scarborough’s Kristen Chamberlain, Alison Davis and Danna Vaughn and South Portland’s Amelia Smith were second teamers.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Cape Elizabeth’s Nick Breed was a first-team Western Maine Conference boys’ hockey all-star this winter.

Scarborough’s Alyssa Hulst made the girls’ hockey all-star team.