AUGUSTA — Five educators have been named semifinalists for the Teacher of the Year honor, the Maine Department of Education said.

The five were selected from eight teachers who were nominated for the award in February. The nominees put together presentations that were on display in the State House last week.

The five semifinalists, picked by a panel of teachers, principals, business leaders and community members, are: Katherine Bousquet, Central School, South Berwick; Richard Lent, Leavitt Area High School, Turner; Elizabeth Marass, Sanford High School; Shannon Shanning, Whittier Middle School, Poland; and Beth Switzer, Coastal Ridge Elementary School, York.

The field will be narrowed to three finalists and then a winner will be selected in August or early September. The winner is usually notified at a surprise assembly at his or her school in September.

Alana Margeson, a 10th-grade English teacher at Caribou High School, is the current teacher of the year.