WHAT: Pure Michigan 400

WHEN: 1 p.m.

WHERE: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles), Brooklyn, Mich.

DISTANCE: 400 miles, 200 laps


LAST YEAR: Kyle Busch raced to the last of his four 2011 victories, outlasting Jimmie Johnson in a green-white-checkered finish.

LAST WEEK: Australia’s Marcos Ambrose won at Watkins Glen for the second straight year, passing Brad Keselowski heading to the final turn in a fender-banging duel.

FAST FACTS: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won at Michigan in June to end a 143-race winless streak dating to his June 2008 victory at the track. … Johnson leads the season standings with four races left in the regular season. He has a one-point lead over Greg Biffle, and two-point advantage over Matt Kenseth. The top 10 will earn spots in the 12-driver Chase. Kasey Kahne, with two victories, holds the first of the two wild-card spots that will go to the drivers with the most victories in the 11th-20th spots. Kahne is 11th. No. 13 Ryan Newman, No. 14 Busch, No. 15 Jeff Gordon, No. 17 Ambrose and No. 18 Joey Logano each have one victory. Johnson, No. 5 Keselowski and No. 8 Tony Stewart lead the series with three victories. Each victory is worth three points when the points are reset for the 10-race Chase.


1. Jimmie Johnson 777

2. Greg Biffle 776

3. Matt Kenseth 775

4. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 760

5. Brad Keselowski 733

6. Martin Truex Jr. 728

7. Clint Bowyer 719

8. Tony Stewart 716

9. Kevin Harvick 710

10. Denny Hamlin 693

11. Kasey Kahne 653

12. Carl Edwards 650

13. Ryan Newman 644

14. Kyle Busch 638

15. Jeff Gordon 634

16. Paul Menard 629

17. Marcos Ambrose 600

18. Joey Logano 587

19. Jamie McMurray 541

19. Jeff Burton 541


AUG. 25: Irwin Tools Night Race, Bristol, Tenn.

SEPT. 2: AdvoCare 500, Hampton, Ga.

SEPT. 8: Federated Auto Parts 400, Richmond, Va.

SEPT. 16: GEICO 400, Joliet, Ill.

SEPT 23: Sylvania 300, Loudon, N.H.

SEPT. 23: AAA 400, Dover, Del.