After many years of ideal weather, the Maine Marathon/Relay/Half Marathon finally ran into the ugly side of Mother Nature last year. The 21st running Sunday morning of the race, which traverses Portland, Falmouth, Cumberland and Yarmouth, also featured rain, but what will be most remembered will be a great turnout and a record setting performance from the champion.

Dan Vassallo, a Colby College graduate, who lives in Peabody, Mass., set a new course mark while winning the marathon in 2 hours, 21 minutes, 12 seconds.

The women’s marathon champion was Eliza Tibbits, a Falmouth native, who finished in 3:03:50.

The half marathon was captured by Old Town’s Spencer McElwain (1:10:23). Cynthia Jerob, a native Kenyan who lives in Auburn, set a new record by winning the women’s half marathon in 1:16:23.

A total of 980 men and women finished the marathon and 1,969 completed the half marathon.

The relay champion was Yankee Dixie Dandee (2:47:37). The female relay champion was Gressives (3:04:59).

A total of 101 relay teams took part.

“It was another great turnout despite the weather, which was worse last year,” said race co-director Howard Spear. “I can’t imagine the field in nice weather now. It didn’t bother the runners. Many said it was great running weather, although not great volunteering weather, but our volunteers all showed up.”

STRIVE, an organization which serves teens and young adults with intellectual and emotional difficulties, was this year’s charity beneficiary.

The 22nd version of the race will be held Oct. 6, 2013.

Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

Sidebar Elements

Dan Vassallo, a Massachusetts resident who once attended Colby College, hits the finish line to capture Sunday’s rainy Maine Marathon in a course record time of 2 hours, 12 minutes, 21 seconds.

Falmouth’s Eliza Tibbits won the women’s race with a time of 3:03:50.

Portland’s Eric Krohne came in 31st in the Maine Marathon in 3:04:29.

North Yarmouth’s Andy Fitch had the eighth-best marathon time (2:52:21).