FREEPORT — Five municipal government candidates are unchallenged in November, and one more seat could remain vacant.

Four of the five candidates for the open seats are also incumbents.

Former educators and incumbents Karin Perlotto VanNostrand and John Morang are unchallenged for re-election to the Regional School Unit 5 Board of Directors.

The School Board candidates both said the proposed expansion and improvement of Freeport High School is one of their goals for the next term. They said the building needs improvements to accommodate a growing student population.

“We definitely need more space, and more flexible space, and we have safety issues to address,” VanNostrand said. “The most important thing is that we’re setting ourselves up to succeed in meeting the needs of all the students.”

Morang echoed those comments and added that he would like to see the school build it’s own athletic field and track, noting the high school is one of few in the state that doesn’t have those amenities.

Three seats are uncontested on the Freeport Sewer District.

Incumbent Trustee and Fire Chief Darrel Fournier will likely retain his seat on the district board, along with the district’s clerk, Leland Arris III. Clinton Goodenow Jr. joins them as the only non-incumbent candidate for the quasi-municipal corporation board.

No one is on the ballot for one available seat on the Freeport Water District Board of Trustees.

Town Clerk Tracey Stevens said typically in this position a write-in candidate will win the election. If no one is elected, the district would likely hold a special election or appoint a willing member of the public.

Voting will be open from 7 a.m.-8 p.m. on Nov. 6 in the gymnasium at Freeport High School, 30 Holbrook St..

Will Graff can be reached at 781-3661 ext. 123 or [email protected]. Follow Will on Twitter: @W_C_Graff.

Sidebar Elements

filed under: