AUGUSTA — Twenty high school basketball players – 10 boys and 10 girls – were named semifinalists for the prestigious Mr. and Miss Maine Basketball awards at press conferences across the state on Wednesday.

The 10 boys’ semifinalists include:

Anthony DiMauro, Boothbay Region; Quin Leary, Edward Little; Charlie Fay, Falmouth; Evan Worster, Forest Hills; Garet Beal, Jonesport-Beals; Spencer Carey, Lawrence High of Fairfield; John Murray, Medomak Valley; Garrett Libby, Old Town; Mitchell Worcester, Washburn; and Aaron Todd, York.

Evan Worster said the inclusion of three Class D players (Beal and Mitchell Worcester) said a lot for the talent level this year.

“This class of D seniors was special,” he said. “It gives us a lot of respect.”

The 10 girls’ semifinalists include:

Jordan Knowlton, Camden Hills; Josie Lee, Cony of Augusta; Lauren Crane, Dexter; Kristin Ross, Gorham; Sydney Hancock, Lake Region; Kristen Anderson, Leavitt High of Turner; Jillian Woodward, Orono; Chandler Guerrette, Presque Isle; Martha Veroneau, Waynflete; and Emily Campbell, York.

Anderson, whose team was eliminated from the Western Class B tournament on Tuesday, said the selection eased that pain a little.

“It’s nice to be recognized for all the hard work that we put in the gym and all the hours we spend shooting,” she said. “It’s hard after last night, but it’s nice to be recognized.”

Three finalists will be announced soon after the high school tournaments conclude March 2. The winners of Mr. and Miss Maine Basketball will be announced March 8 at the 25th annual Maine Association of Basketball Coaches banquet at Husson College.

Rosters for the Maine McDonald’s High School Senior all-star games were also announced, as were the McDonald’s academic all-state team and regional winners of the foul shooting contests.

The all-star games will be played at Husson College on March 9.