While the franchise was honored with the Bob Freitas Award – given for excellence in all aspects of its operations –  the team was not quite as successful on the field. 

The team finished 65-77 and failed to make the playoffs for a second straight season.

Designated hitter Chris Norton belted 38 home runs, three short of the all-time Eastern League record of 41 held by both Ken Strong (1930) and Rick Lancellotti (1979). Norton’s slugging percentage of .633 also set a team record.

In the meantime, Julio Ramirez was leaving opposing players in the dust. He set single-season and career records with 10 triples and 64 stolen bases. Ramirez broke Todd Dunwoody’s single-season record with 568 at-bats.

Fletcher Bates set two career records with 279 games played and 1,074 at-bats. Also noteworthy was Nate Rolison, who set a Sea Dog mark with 132 walks. Pitcher Michael Tejera was dominating, earning 13 victories and tying Tony Saunders for the most in a season. Tejera also broke Saunders’ single-season record for earned- run average with a mark of 2.62.

Many fans that left Hadlock Field on Aug. 8 during the 3-hour, 37-minute rain delay could only shake their heads the next morning as they read the paper. Brad Penny and Luis Arroyo had combined to pitch the first no-hitter in Sea Dog history in a 3-0 win.

Penny threw six hitless innings, striking out five and walking four in his first outing with the team. Arroya came on in the seventh to throw three scoreless innings and get his first save.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.