BRUNSWICK – The State of Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame will honor 17 high school football players, a prep school player and a college player with its scholar athlete awards at its annual banquet May 22 at Bowdoin College.

The Chapter will also present a Distinguished American Award, a Coach of the Year Award, a Contributor to American Football Award and a Football Official of the Year Award.

The Maine Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame recognizes and supports amateur football in Maine. It honors high school, prep school and college players every May. The organization conducts a number of youth football clinics, hosts a kickoff luncheon in August, supports the Fitzpatrick Award and is involved in the Coach Mac Fund, named for Old Town native Dick McPherson — a former UMass, Syracuse and Patriots head coach. The Mac Fund helps fund youth football programs, emerging Maine high school programs and offers free clinics for coaching education.

The high school scholar athletes to be honored are: Robert Begin, Thornton Academy; Ryan Brewer, Lisbon; Ryan Casale, Cheverus; Gregory Duff, Bangor; Donald Goodrich, Cheverus; Andrew Lachance, Maranacook; Nicholas Leblond, Biddeford; Andrew Martel, Bonny Eagle; Donald Martin Jr., Hermon; Riley Murphy, Bonny Eagle; Kurt Massey, John Bapst; Connor McCrum, Thornton Academy; James Purdy, Freeport; Dillon Russo, Scarborough; Alexander Shain, Sanford; Anthony Sementelli, Lawrence and Tyler Sturtevant, Poland.

Jarrod Casey of Bridgton Academy is the prep school scholar-athlete recipient and John Gilboy of Colby is the college honoree.

Robert Hewes of Portland will receive the Distinguished American Award. Hews played at South Portland High, Princeton University and the Kansas City Chiefs. John Morin, who recently stepped down as head coach at Massabesic High, will receive the Contribution to Amateur Football Award. Kevin Kezal of Thornton Academy, which won the Class A state championship in 2012, is the Coach of the Year. Vinnie DiPhilippo of Portland will receive the Football Official of the Year Award.

The banquet begins with a social at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30. For tickets to the banquet, call Howard Vandersea, secretary-treasurer of the chapter, at 729-4210.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.