BRUNSWICK — The Institute for Family-Owned Business, in partnership with the law firm Verrill Dana, announced winners of the annual Maine Family Business Awards on May 13 at the Marriott at Sable Oaks in South Portland.

The event was hosted by WGME-TV co-anchor Gregg Lagerquist, who was joined by speaker Richard Stephenson, founder of family-owned Cancer Treatment Centers of America.

In his talk, Stephenson told how profits from other corporate ventures – based on six continents – were channeled into the creation of the Cancer Treatment Centers.

“We know what to do, so let’s do it,” Stephenson said, describing the mission at Cancer Treatment Centers, where “diagnosis and treatment happen as soon as possible.”

The award winners were Agren Appliance & Television, Auburn, the Morong Falmouth Award for a large business (25 or more employees); D. Cole Jewelers, Portland; Maddy Corson Award for small business (fewer than 25 employees); The Wolak Group, Falmouth, Shep Lee Award for Community Service; Hannan’s Electric, South Portland, Customer Service Award; Central Street Farmhouse, Bangor, First Generation Award; and Close Buy Catalog, Portland, Innovation award.

The firms were singled out for their business success, positive business and  family linkages, contributions to community and industry, family participation, work environment, communication, innovative business practices and strategies.

Other finalists were Butterfield Technologies, of Portland; Elizabeth Moss Galleries, of Falmouth; Karkos Group, of Lewiston; Now You’re Cooking, of Bath; The Maine Sportsman, of Augusta; and Wizbe Innovations, of Manchester.

Sidebar Elements

Emily, Dean, Denise, Lindsey and Ryan Cole of D. Cole Jewelers, Portland, winners of the Maddy Corson Small Business Award from the Institute for Family-Owned Business.

Kimberly Wolak Garrett and Ed Wolak of The Wolak Group, Falmouth, winners of the Shep Lee Community Service Award from the Institute for Family-Owned Business.

Lesa and Dan Ouellette of Hannan’s Electric, South Portland, winners of the Customer Service Award from the Institute for Family-Owned Business.

Phil Kaplan, Masey Kaplan, Demetra Giatas and Kent Avery of Close Buy Catalog, Portland, winners of the Innovation Award from the Institute for Family-Owned Business.

filed under: