LOS ANGELES — Jim Parsons of “The Big Bang Theory” has won his third Emmy for best actor in a comedy.

Parsons, who plays the nerdy Sheldon Cooper in the CBS Thursday night comedy, had won in 2010 and 2011 before earning the hat trick on Sunday.

“The Big Bang Theory” blossomed into television’s most popular comedy this past season, fueled in part by the strong ratings that its reruns are drawing on cable TV.

Jeff Daniels won the Emmy Award for best drama actor for his role as self-righteous news anchor Will McAvoy in the HBO drama “Newsroom.”

It was Daniels’ first Emmy, indeed his first nomination. The television news industry drama was created by veteran TV writer Aaron Sorkin.

Daniels’ win was considered an upset in a category where his competition included Bryan Cranston, Damian Lewis, Kevin Spacey and Jon Hamm. It was the third major acting award given out Sunday to an actor on an HBO series.

Here’s a partial list of more winners at Sunday’s 65th annual Primetime Emmy Awards presented by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:

• Supporting Actress, Comedy Series: Merritt Wever, “Nurse Jackie,” Showtime.

• Writing, Comedy Series: Tina Fey, Tracey Wigfield, “30 Rock.”

• Supporting Actor, Comedy Series: Tony Hale, “Veep,” HBO.

• Writing, Comedy Series: Tina Fey, Tracey Wigfield, “30 Rock.”

• Actress, Comedy Series: Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep,” HBO.

• Directing, Comedy Series: Gail Mancuso, “Modern Family,” ABC.